Love Comes Softly Books In Order

The “Love Comes Softly” series, written by Janette Oke, is a collection of Christian historical fiction novels that has touched the hearts of readers around the world. First published in 1979, the series set a precedent for the Christian fiction genre, particularly in its blend of faith, romance, and historical settings.

Set in the 19th-century American frontier, the series begins with the eponymous first book, “Love Comes Softly.” The story introduces Marty Claridge, a young woman who, after suddenly becoming a widow, finds herself in an unfamiliar frontier world with the harsh winter approaching.

In a moment of desperation, she enters into a marriage of convenience with Clark Davis, a widower seeking a mother for his young daughter. What begins as a pragmatic arrangement gradually blossoms into a deep, genuine love, illustrating the series’ overarching theme of love’s enduring and transformative power.

Throughout the series, Janette Oke skillfully weaves tales that depict the challenges and triumphs of frontier life, including the characters’ struggles and victories in faith, love, and community. Each novel in the series introduces new characters and stories while maintaining the connection to the family and world established in the first book.

This continuity creates a rich and immersive experience for readers, who become deeply invested in the lives of the characters and their spiritual journeys.

Oke’s writing is notable for its gentle and heartwarming style, appealing to readers who enjoy stories that offer both comfort and moral guidance. Her characters are portrayed with depth and realism, facing challenges and conflicts that test their faith and resilience. The series doesn’t shy away from the harsh realities of frontier life, yet it maintains an overarching sense of hope and providence.

The “Love Comes Softly” series consists of eight books, concluding with “Love Finds a Home.” The series has been widely praised for its inspirational themes and was even adapted into a successful television movie series, bringing Janette Oke’s stories to a broader audience.

In the world of Christian and historical fiction, “Love Comes Softly” stands out as a seminal work. Janette Oke’s series has not only provided readers with uplifting and engaging stories but has also had a lasting impact on the genre, paving the way for future authors in Christian fiction.

Her work continues to be cherished by readers who find comfort and inspiration in her tales of faith, perseverance, and love.

Publication Order of Love Comes Softly Books

Love Comes Softly(1979)
Love’s Enduring Promise(1979)
Love’s Long Journey(1982)
Love’s Abiding Joy(1983)
Love’s Unending Legacy(1984)
Love’s Unfolding Dream(1987)
Love Takes Wing(1988)
Love Finds a Home(1989)

Leave a Comment