Junie B Jones Books In Order

The “Junie B. Jones” series, written by Barbara Park, is a well loved and bestselling collection of children’s books that have captivated young readers for decades. Launched in 1992 with “Junie B. Jones and the Stupid Smelly Bus,” the series chronicles the adventures and misadventures of Junie B. Jones, a spirited and outspoken kindergartener (later first grader) with a flair for the dramatic and a unique take on the world around her.

Junie B. (the “B” stands for Beatrice, though she prefers just “B” and that’s all) is known for her humorous, outspoken, and sometimes mischievous behavior. The books are written in a first-person narrative, which perfectly captures the voice and perspective of a young child. Junie’s interpretation of the world, her grammatical mistakes, and her candid observations about the world make the books both relatable and entertaining for young readers.

Barbara Park’s writing is distinguished by its wit, humor, and understanding of the child’s mindset. She masterfully captures the innocence and simplicity of childhood, making Junie B.’s experiences resonate with her audience. Whether Junie B. is dealing with a new baby brother, navigating school bus politics, or grappling with a friendly monster under her bed, her stories are always engaging and filled with heart.

The series addresses various themes pertinent to young children, such as friendship, family, and the trials of growing up. Park’s skill in tackling these subjects with humor and sensitivity has made the series a tool for both entertainment and learning.

Spanning over 30 books, the “Junie B. Jones” series follows Junie through her kindergarten and first-grade years, allowing readers to grow and learn along with her. The series has been praised for its ability to engage beginning readers with its accessible language and relatable content.

Despite some controversy over Junie B.’s grammar and attitude, the series has been a fixture in children’s literature, celebrated for its humor, charm, and the joy it brings to early reading. Barbara Park’s “Junie B. Jones” series remains a cherished collection, instilling a love of reading in young children with its delightful storytelling and memorable protagonist.

Publication Order of Junie B. Jones Books

Junie B. Jones and theStupid Smelly Bus(1992)
Junie B. Jones and a Little Monkey Business(1993)
Junie B. Jones and Her Big Fat Mouth(1993)
Junie B. Jones and Some Sneaky Peeky Spying(1994)
Junie B. Jones and the Yucky Blucky Fruitcake(1995)
Junie B. Jones and That Meanie Jim’s Birthday(1996)
Junie B. Jones Loves Handsome Warren(1996)
Junie B. Jones Has a Monster Under Her Bed(1997)
Junie B. Jones Is a Party Animal(1997)
Junie B. Jones Is Not a Crook(1997)
Junie B. Jones Smells Something Fishy(1998)
Junie B. Jones Is a Beauty Shop Guy(1998)
Junie B. Jones Isa Flower Girl(1999)
Junie B. Jones and the Mushy Gushy Valentime(1999)
Junie B. Jones Has a Peep in Her Pocket(2000)
Junie B. Jones Is Captain Field Day(2001)
Junie B. Jones Is a Graduation Girl(2001)
Turkeys We Have Loved and Eaten(2012)

Publication Order of Junie B. First Grader Books

Junie B., First Grader (at Last!)(2001)
Boss of Lunch(2002)
Toothless Wonder(2002)
Cheater Pants(2003)
One-Man Band(2003)
Boo…and I Mean it!(2004)
Jingle Bells, Batman Smells!(2005)
Dumb Bunny(2007)
Junie B.’s Essential Survival Guide to School(2009)
Turkeys We Have Loved and Eaten (and Other Thankful Stuff)(2012)

Publication Order of Junie B. Jones Non-Fiction Books

Top-Secret Personal Beeswax(2003)
Junie B.’s These Puzzles Hurt My Brain! Book(2011)
Junie B. My Valentime(2013)

Leave a Comment