Sookie Stackhouse Books In Order

The Sookie Stackhouse series, also known as “The Southern Vampire Mysteries,” is a collection of novels by Charlaine Harris that blend the genres of mystery, romance, and supernatural fantasy. Set in the fictional small town of Bon Temps, Louisiana, the series revolves around its titular character, Sookie Stackhouse, a telepathic waitress with a penchant for finding herself in the midst of supernatural troubles.

The series kicks off with “Dead Until Dark” (2001), introducing Sookie and the central premise that, in this universe, vampires have recently “come out of the coffin” – that is, they have revealed their existence to the human world. This revelation sets the stage for the complex interactions and dynamics between humans and supernatural beings throughout the series.

Sookie, with her ability to read minds, finds herself uniquely positioned in this world where vampires, shapeshifters, werewolves, and other supernatural entities exist. Her talent is both a gift and a curse, making her valuable to some and vulnerable to others. Over the course of the series, Sookie navigates a world filled with danger, mystery, and various romantic entanglements, particularly with vampires Bill Compton and Eric Northman.

Harris’s series is notable for its witty and engaging narrative voice, courtesy of Sookie herself, who narrates the stories. The books are infused with a distinct Southern charm and humor, despite the often-dark events that unfold. The supernatural elements are cleverly woven into the fabric of the small-town setting, creating a world that is both fantastical and grounded in reality.

The Sookie Stackhouse novels explore themes of identity, tolerance, and the nature of humanity. Harris delves into the societal implications of the vampires’ public presence, using it as a metaphor for various social issues. The series is also known for its compelling character development, as Sookie evolves from a somewhat naive waitress to a strong, independent woman deeply enmeshed in the supernatural world.

Spanning thirteen novels, with several short stories and novellas, the series has enjoyed immense popularity, not least due to its adaptation into the successful HBO television series “True Blood.” Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse series stands out for its imaginative blending of genres, its strong and relatable protagonist, and its unique take on the vampire mythology.

Publication Order of Sookie Stackhouse Books

Dead Until Dark(2001)
Living Dead in Dallas(2002)
Club Dead(2003)
Dead to the World(2004)
Dead as a Doornail(2005)
Definitely Dead(2006)
All Together Dead(2007)
From Dead to Worse(2008)
Dead and Gone(2009)
A Touch of Dead(2009)
Dead in the Family(2010)
True Blood Collection(2010)
Dead Reckoning(2011)
The First Sookie Collection(2011)
Dancers in the Dark(2012)
Dead Ever After(2013)
After Dead(2013)
Games Creatures Play(2014)

Publication Order of Sookie Stackhouse Collections

The Complete Sookie Stackhouse Stories(2017)

Leave a Comment