Harlan Coben Books In Order

Explore the captivating world of Harlan Coben with this comprehensive list of his books, organized for both his acclaimed series and his gripping standalone thrillers. We have listed them in both publication and chronological order.

Publication Order of Myron Bolitar Books

Deal Breaker(1995)
Drop Shot(1996)
Fade Away(1996)
Back Spin(1997)
One False Move(1998)
The Final Detail(1999)
Darkest Fear(2000)
Promise Me(2006)
Long Lost(2009)
Live Wire(2011)
Think Twice(2024)

Publication Order of Mickey Bolitar Books

Seconds Away(2012)

Publication Order of Windsor Horne Lockwood III Books


Publication Order of Wilde Books

The Boy from the Woods(2020)
The Match(2022)

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Play Dead(1990)
Miracle Cure(1991)
Tell No One(2001)
Gone for Good(2002)
No Second Chance(2003)
Just One Look(2004)
The Innocent(2005)
The Woods(2007)
Hold Tight(2008)
Stay Close(2012)
Six Years(2013)
Missing You(2014)
The Stranger(2015)
Fool Me Once(2016)
Don’t Let Go(2017)
Run Away(2019)
I Will Find You(2023)

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

A Simple Philosophy(1998)

Publication Order of Picture Books

The Magical Fantastical Fridge(2016)

Publication Order of Anthologies

Malice Domestic 7(1998)
Opening Shots, Vol. II(2001)
Death Do Us Part(2006)
Pulp Fiction: The Crimefighters(2006)
The Best American Mystery Stories 2011(2011)
Suspense Magazine April 2012(2012)
Birds of Prey: The Harlan Coben Challenge(2022)

More About The Author Harlan Coben – Biography

Harlan Coben, born on January 4, 1962, in Newark, New Jersey, is an acclaimed American author known for his mastery in crafting suspenseful thrillers that delve into the complexities of human relationships and the secrets of seemingly ordinary lives. With a talent for creating narratives that combine tension, twists, and emotional depth, Coben has established himself as a significant figure in the genre of mystery and domestic thrillers.

Early Life and Education

Coben grew up in a Jewish family in Livingston, New Jersey, where he developed an early interest in writing. He attended Amherst College, where he majored in political science, but it was his passion for storytelling that ultimately shaped his career path. After college, Coben worked in the travel industry, a job that gave him the flexibility to write in his spare time.

Writing Career and Breakthrough

Coben’s writing career began with the creation of his character Myron Bolitar, a sports agent and detective, who first appeared in “Deal Breaker” (1995). The Myron Bolitar series, combining elements of mystery with humor and an engaging protagonist, quickly gained a following. However, it was his standalone domestic thrillers that brought him widespread fame and commercial success.

Standalone Novels and Signature Style

With titles like “Tell No One” (2001), “Gone for Good” (2002), and “The Stranger” (2015), Coben cemented his reputation as a master of the domestic thriller. His standalone novels often revolve around ordinary people who find themselves caught in extraordinary and perilous situations, uncovering layers of secrets and lies in the process. Coben’s writing is characterized by its fast pace, clever plot twists, and ability to keep readers guessing until the last page.

Awards and Recognition

Coben’s talent has been recognized with numerous awards, including the Edgar Award, Shamus Award, and Anthony Award, making him the first writer to have received all three. His novels have appeared on bestseller lists around the world, and his books have been translated into over 40 languages.

Adaptations and International Appeal

Several of Coben’s works have been adapted into successful films and television series, both in the United States and internationally, particularly in France. These adaptations have brought his stories to a wider audience and have underscored his appeal as a storyteller across different mediums and cultures.

Personal Life

Away from writing, Coben is known for his commitment to his family and his roots in New Jersey, which often serve as a backdrop for his novels. His personal experiences and observations of suburban life significantly influence the authenticity and relatability of his characters and settings.

In Summary

Harlan Coben’s contribution to the thriller and mystery genres is marked by his skill in weaving narratives that are not only suspenseful but also deeply human. His exploration of the dark undercurrents in everyday life, combined with his talent for surprise and misdirection, continues to captivate and intrigue a global audience of readers and viewers alike.

Leave a Comment