J.K. Rowling Books In Order

J.K. Rowling, born Joanne Rowling on July 31, 1965, in Yate, Gloucestershire, England, is a name that resonates deeply in the literary world and beyond, primarily due to her creation of the phenomenally successful Harry Potter series. Her journey from a struggling writer to one of the most famous authors of the 21st century is a tale of perseverance, imagination, and the transformative power of storytelling.

Early Life and Struggles

Rowling’s early life was marked by a love of reading and storytelling, with fantasy tales featuring prominently in her childhood interests. She attended the University of Exeter, studying French and Classics, and later moved to Portugal to work as an English teacher. It was during a train journey from Manchester to London in 1990 that the idea for Harry Potter first came to her. The next few years were challenging for Rowling, who faced personal hardships including the death of her mother, a brief marriage in Portugal, and subsequent single parenthood.

The Birth of Harry Potter

Despite these challenges, Rowling continued to develop the Harry Potter universe, often writing in Edinburgh cafés while her baby daughter slept. The first book in the series, “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone,” was completed in 1995 and faced several rejections before being published by Bloomsbury in 1997. The book, and each subsequent addition to the series, became a global success, beloved by children and adults alike.

Impact and Legacy

Rowling’s impact on literature and popular culture is profound. The Harry Potter series, comprising seven books, has been translated into numerous languages, sold millions of copies worldwide, and inspired a major film series, a play, and theme park attractions. Her richly imagined world, with its themes of friendship, courage, and the power of good over evil, has captivated a global audience and inspired a new generation of readers.

Beyond Harry Potter

Beyond the wizarding world, Rowling has ventured into writing for adult audiences, including the novel “The Casual Vacancy” and the Cormoran Strike detective series under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith. Her work in this area has also been well-received, showcasing her versatility as a writer.

Philanthropy and Advocacy

Rowling’s success has enabled her to engage in extensive philanthropic activities, particularly in areas related to child welfare, poverty, and multiple sclerosis research. She has used her platform to advocate for various social issues and has been open about her own experiences with depression, hoping to help destigmatize mental health struggles.


While celebrated for her literary contributions, Rowling has also been a figure of controversy, particularly in relation to her statements on social media about gender identity, which sparked discussions and criticism.

In Summary

J.K. Rowling’s story is one of triumph over adversity, the power of imagination, and the enduring appeal of good storytelling. Her creation of the Harry Potter series has left an indelible mark on literature and continues to enchant and inspire readers around the world.

Publication Order of Harry Potter Books

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s / Philosopher’s Stone(1997)
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets(1998)
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban(1999)
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire(2000)
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix(2003)
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince(2005)
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows(2007)
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child(With: Jack Thorne,John Tiffany)(2016)

Publication Order of Harry Potter Companion Books

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them(As: Newt Scamander)(2000)
Quidditch Through the Ages(As: Kennilworthy Whisp)(2001)
The Tales of Beedle the Bard(2016)

Publication Order of Harry Potter: A Journey Through… Books

A Journey Through Charms and Defence Against the Dark Arts(2019)
A Journey Through Potions and Herbology(2019)
A Journey Through Divination and Astronomy(2019)
A Journey Through Care of Magical Creatures(2019)

Publication Order of Harry Potter Short Stories/Novellas

Harry Potter: The Prequel(2008)
Harry Potter: The Prequel was a short story published in Whats Your Story.

Publication Order of Fantastic Beasts The Original Screenplay Books

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – The Original Screenplay(2016)
Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald – The Original Screenplay(2018)
The Secrets of Dumbledore – The Complete Screenplay(With: Steve Kloves)(2022)

Publication Order of Pottermore Presents Books

Short Stories from Hogwarts of Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies(2016)
Short Stories from Hogwarts of Power, Politics and Pesky Poltergeists(2016)
Hogwarts: An Incomplete and Unreliable Guide(2016)

Publication Order of Cormoran Strike Books

The Cuckoo’s Calling(2013)
The Silkworm(2014)
Career of Evil(2015)
Lethal White(2018)
Troubled Blood(2020)
The Ink Black Heart(2022)
The Running Grave(2023)

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Casual Vacancy(2012)
The Ickabog(2020)
The Christmas Pig(With: Jim Field)(2021)

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Very Good Lives: The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of Imagination(2015)

Publication Order of Anthologies

Becoming Myself: Reflections on Growing Up Female(2006)
A Love Letter to Europe(2019)

Leave a Comment