Mark Twain Books In Order

Delve into the entire collection of Mark Twain’s novels, laid out in chronological order, providing a pathway to follow his literary journey from his earliest writings to his later works.

Publication Order of Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn Books

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer(1876)
The Annotated Huckleberry Finn(1884)
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn(1885)
Tom Sawyer Abroad(1894)
Tom Sawyer, Detective(1896)
Huck Finn and Tom Sawyer Among the Indians and Other Unfinished Stories(1989)

Publication Order of Diaries Of Adam and Eve Books

Extracts from Adam’s Diary(1904)
Eve’s Diary(1906)

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Gilded Age(1873)
A Murder, a Mystery and a Marriage(1876)
The Prince and the Pauper(1881)
A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court(1889)
The American Claimant(1892)
The Tragedy of Pudd’nhead Wilson(1893)
Personal Recollections of Joan of Arc(1896)
A Double Barrelled Detective Story(1902)
A Dog’s Tale(1904)
King Leopold’s Soliloquy(1905)
A Horse’s Tale(1907)
The Adventures of Thomas Jefferson Snodgrass(1928)
The Adventures of Colonel Sellers(1965)
Captain Stormfield’s Visit to Heaven(2008)

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Jumping Frog(1865)
Pudd’nhead Wilson(1893)
The Mysterious Stranger(1916)
Bakers Bluejay Yarn(1986)
The Stolen White Elephant(2017)
The Invalid’s Story(2019)

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Celebrated Jumping Frog of Calaveras County and Other Stories(1867)
Eye Openers(1871)
Mark Twain’s Sketches(1872)
Sketches New and Old(1875)
The Stolen White Elephant(1882)
Merry Tales(1892)
The 1,000,000 Pound Bank-Note, and Other New Stories(1893)
The Man That Corrupted Hadleyburg and Other Stories(1900)
The $30,000 Bequest and Other Stories(1906)
The Mysterious Stranger and Other Stories(1916)
Punch, Brothers, Punch(1989)
Alonzo Fitz and Other Stories(2004)

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Mark Twain’s Letters From Hawaii(1866)
The Innocents Abroad(1869)
The Innocents at Home(1869)
Mark Twain’s Burlesque Autobiography; and, First Romance(1871)
Roughing It(By: Rodman W. Paul)(1872)
The Awful German Language / Die schreckliche deutsche Sprache(1880)
A Tramp Abroad(1880)
Life on the Mississippi(1883)
How to Tell a Story and Other Essays(1897)
Following the Equator(1897)
English as She is Taught(1900)
What is Man? and Other Essays(1906)
My Debut as a Literary Person(1906)
Christian Science(1907)
Is Shakespeare Dead?(1909)
Mark Twain’s Speeches(1910)
The Bible According to Mark Twain(1995)
Mark Twain: The Complete Interviews(With: Gary Scharnhorst)(2006)
Letters from the Earth(2009)

Publication Order of Autobiography Of Mark Twain Books

Autobiography of Mark Twain, Volume 1(1925)
Autobiography of Mark Twain, Volume 2(1925)
Autobiography of Mark Twain, Volume 3(1925)

Publication Order of The Year of the Cat Books

A Cat of a Different Color(By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch,Annie Reed,Louisa Swann,Lisa Silverthorne,Dean Wesley Smith,Ray Vukcevich,Dory Crowe)(2020)
A Cat of Perfect Taste(By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch,Dean Wesley Smith)(2020)
A Cat of Disdainful Looks(With: Kristine Kathryn Rusch,Rudyard Kipling,Stefon Mears,Dean Wesley Smith,Ray Vukcevich,John Adams,Jodi Lyn Nye)(2020)
A Cat of Strange Lands(By: Dean Wesley Smith)(2020)
A Cat of Cozy Situations(By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch,Dean Wesley Smith)(2020)
A Cat of Heroic Heart(By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch,Carole Nelson Douglas,E. Nesbit,Jamie Ferguson,Lisa Silverthorne,Stefon Mears,Dean Wesley Smith,Liz Pierce)(2020)
A Cat of Artistic Sensibilities(By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch,Henry Slesar,Joan Aiken,Annie Reed,Stefon Mears,Dean Wesley Smith,Mary Turzillo)(2021)
A Cat of Fantastic Whims(By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch,E. Nesbit,Jamie Ferguson,Annie Reed,Lisa Silverthorne,Dean Wesley Smith,Geoffrey A. Landis,Liz Pierce)(2021)
A Cat of Feral Instincts(By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch,Arthur Conan Doyle,Edgar Allan Poe,Brigid Collins,Dean Wesley Smith,Pamela Sargent,Jamie McNabb,Mary Turzillo,N. Margaret Campbell)(2021)

Publication Order of Anthologies

Atlantic Harvest: Memoirs of the Atlantic(1947)
50 Great American Short Stories(1963)
21 Great Stories(1969)
Adventure Stories for Boys and Girls(1985)
Unknown California(1985)
Famous and Curious Animal Stories(1989)
Great Baseball Stories(1990)
Spells of Enchantment(1991)
Prose and Poetry of the American West(1991)
The Little Book of Horrors: Tiny Tales of Terror(1992)
100 Hair-Raising Little Horror Stories(1993)
Writing New York(1998)
The Best of Jim Baen’s Universe(2007)
San Francisco Noir 2(2009)
50 Classic Novellas(2011)
Demons: Encounters with the Devil and His Minions, Fallen Angels, and the Possessed(2011)
A Cairo Anthology: Two Hundred Years of Travel Writing(2013)
Citing Atheists: Quotes of Agnosticism, Non-Theism, Skepticism, Irreligion, Free Thought, and Philosophy(2015)
The Dover Anthology of Cat Stories(2015)
Favorite Love Stories(2017)
The Further Crossovers of Sherlock Holmes(2017)
The Driftless Reader(2017)
Living to Tell the Horrid Tales(2017)
Writers: Their Lives and Works(2018)
Animals We Love(2019)
American Midnight(2019)
30 Eternal Masterpieces of Humorous Stories(2019)
A Cat of Disdainful Looks(2020)
Classic Cat Stories(2020)
The Dover Anthology of Classic Christmas Stories(2023)

More About Mark Twain – Author Biography

Mark Twain, born Samuel Langhorne Clemens on November 30, 1835, in Florida, Missouri, stands tall in the pantheon of American literature. His wit, satire, and keen observation of the human condition have made him an enduring figure in the literary world.

Twain’s childhood in Hannibal, Missouri, a town along the Mississippi River, deeply influenced his future writings. The river itself, a symbol of freedom and adventure, would later become a central element in his most famous works. After his father’s death, Twain, just 11 years old, began working as a printer’s apprentice. This early foray into the world of words laid the groundwork for his literary aspirations.

Twain’s career took him from typesetting to riverboat piloting on the Mississippi, an experience that not only provided rich material for his writings but also his pen name, ‘Mark Twain,’ a riverman’s term for safe navigating depth. After the Civil War ended his piloting career, Twain turned to journalism. He traveled widely, from the Wild West to Europe and the Middle East, his adventures fueling his writing and providing a diverse backdrop for his stories.

Twain’s breakthrough came with “The Celebrated Jumping Frog of Calaveras County,” a humorous tale that garnered national attention. However, it was “The Adventures of Tom Sawyer” and its sequel, “Adventures of Huckleberry Finn,” that firmly established his reputation. These novels, with their mix of humor, social commentary, and vivid depiction of American life, are considered classics of American literature.

Twain’s body of work is diverse, ranging from humorous sketches to biting social satire. He was a prolific writer, lecturer, and public figure, known for his sharp wit and incisive social critiques. His personal life, however, was marked by tragedy and financial difficulties, which added a layer of depth and complexity to his writing.

Despite facing personal hardships, Twain’s influence on American literature and culture is immeasurable. His ability to weave humor, satire, and moral insight into his narratives has made his work timeless. Mark Twain passed away on April 21, 1910, but his legacy as one of America’s greatest writers endures, his works continuing to delight and provoke thought in readers around the world.

Authors Similar To Mark Twain

Jack London
William Faulkner
Ray Bradbury
Leo Tolstoy

Leave a Comment