Prey/Lucas Davenport Books In Order

The “Prey” series, authored by John Sandford, a pseudonym for the Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist John Roswell Camp, stands as a towering achievement in the genre of crime thrillers. Debuting in 1989 with “Rules of Prey,” the series introduces Lucas Davenport, a detective whose intelligence, tough demeanor, and unconventional methods quickly cemented him as one of the most intriguing protagonists in crime fiction.

Set primarily in Minnesota, the “Prey” novels feature Lucas Davenport, who begins the series as a hard-nosed police detective and later becomes a state troubleshooter with the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. Davenport’s character is complex and multifaceted: he’s wealthy, drives fast cars, enjoys gaming, and has a taste for fine clothing, setting him apart from typical detective stereotypes. Yet, it’s his sharp mind, dedication to justice, and willingness to bend the rules that truly define him.

Each book in the series revolves around a new case, often involving serial killers, hitmen, or political intrigue. Sandford is known for his meticulous plotting, creating narratives that are both tightly constructed and rich in detail. The series is not just about the crimes, but also about the process of solving them, with Davenport often employing unorthodox methods that add an edge to the storytelling.

Sandford’s writing style is characterized by crisp, punchy dialogue and a fast-paced narrative. He has a keen eye for detail, whether it’s in the depiction of police procedural work, the Minnesota setting, or the psychology of his characters. This attention to detail, combined with the depth of characterization, makes the “Prey” series both gripping and immersive.

One of the unique aspects of the “Prey” series is its evolution over time. As the series progresses, readers witness the growth and changes in Lucas Davenport’s personal and professional life. Supporting characters, too, are well-developed, adding layers to the series’ overall texture and providing a more expansive view of Davenport’s world.

The “Prey” novels also stand out for their exploration of moral ambiguity. Davenport often operates in grey areas, raising questions about the nature of law enforcement and the ethical dilemmas faced by those who work to protect and serve. This moral complexity adds a philosophical depth to the series, elevating it above standard crime thriller fare.

With over thirty books and counting, the “Prey” series by John Sandford has not only built a loyal fanbase but has also garnered critical acclaim for its compelling storytelling, complex characters, and the masterful way it weaves together suspense, action, and psychological depth. It remains a benchmark in the world of crime thriller fiction, with Lucas Davenport standing as a memorable and enduring character in the genre.

Publication Order of Prey/Lucas Davenport Books

Rules of Prey(1989)
Shadow Prey(1990)
Eyes of Prey(1991)
Silent Prey(1992)
Winter Prey(1993)
Night Prey(1994)
Mind Prey(1995)
Sudden Prey(1996)
Secret Prey(1998)
Certain Prey(1999)
Easy Prey(2000)
Chosen Prey(2001)
Mortal Prey(2002)
Naked Prey(2003)
Hidden Prey(2004)
Broken Prey(2005)
Invisible Prey(2007)
Phantom Prey(2008)
Wicked Prey(2009)
Storm Prey(2010)
Buried Prey(2011)
Stolen Prey(2012)
Silken Prey(2013)
Field of Prey(2014)
Gathering Prey(2015)
Extreme Prey(2016)
Golden Prey(2017)
Twisted Prey(2018)
Neon Prey(2019)
Masked Prey(2020)
Ocean Prey(2021)
Righteous Prey(2022)
Judgment Prey(2023)
Toxic Prey(2024)

Publication Order of Lucas Davenport vs. Lincoln Rhyme Short Stories/Novellas

Rhymes With Prey: Lincoln Rhyme vs. Lucas Davenport(2014)

Leave a Comment