Barbara Kingsolver Books In Order

Barbara Kingsolver is an acclaimed American author and essayist, celebrated for her poignant and thought-provoking novels that often explore themes of social justice, environmentalism, and the human relationship with nature. Born on April 8, 1955, in Annapolis, Maryland, Kingsolver was raised in rural Kentucky, an upbringing that deeply influenced her writing and perspectives.

Kingsolver’s literary career began with “The Bean Trees,” published in 1988, a novel that reflects her keen understanding of social issues and human connections. Her writing is characterized by its rich prose, strong character development, and deep empathy for both her characters and the subjects she explores.

Perhaps her most renowned work is “The Poisonwood Bible” (1998), a powerful novel set against the backdrop of post-colonial Africa in the 1960s. The story, told from the perspective of the wife and four daughters of a Baptist missionary, is a profound exploration of cultural imperialism, religion, and family dynamics. This book, like much of her work, showcases Kingsolver’s skill in weaving together personal narratives with broader social and political themes.

Kingsolver’s other notable works include “Animal Dreams,” “Prodigal Summer,” and “Flight Behavior,” each marked by her distinctive blend of compelling storytelling and exploration of complex issues such as identity, community, and the environment. Her ability to interlace the personal with the political and ecological makes her novels both engaging and insightful.

In addition to her novels, Kingsolver has written essays, short stories, and poetry, and her work often reflects her strong environmental and humanitarian beliefs. She is also known for “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle,” a non-fiction work where she narrates her family’s attempt to eat only locally grown food for a year, highlighting issues of sustainability and food ethics.

Recipient of numerous awards and honors, including the National Humanities Medal, Barbara Kingsolver’s work has not only captivated readers but also sparked important conversations about our world and our place within it. Her contribution to contemporary literature is significant, offering narratives that are as thought-provoking as they are touching.

Publication Order of Greer Family Books by

The Bean Trees(1988)
Pigs in Heaven(1993)

Publication Order of Standalone Barbara Kingsolver Novels

Animal Dreams(1990)
The Poisonwood Bible(1998)
Prodigal Summer(2000)
The Lacuna(2009)
Flight Behavior(2012)
Demon Copperhead(2022)

Publication Order of Barbara Kingsolver Short Story Collections

Another America/Otra America(1992)
How to Fly(2020)

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

High Tide in Tucson: Essays from Now or Never(1995)
Holding the Line: Women in the Great Arizona Mine Strike of 1983(1996)
Small Wonder: Essays(2002)
Last Stand: America’s Virgin Lands(2002)
Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: Our Year of Season Eating(2007)

Publication Order of Children’s Books

Coyote’s Wild Home(2023)

Publication Order of Anthologies

Mid-life Confidential(1994)
The Eloquent Essay(2000)
Writers on Writing(2001)
The Best American Short Stories 2001(2001)
Touchstone Anthology of Contemporary Creative Nonfiction(2007)
The Maternal Is Political(2008)
Hope Beneath Our Feet(2010)
To Eat with Grace(2014)
Way More than Luck(2015)
Plough Quarterly No. 4: Earth(2015)
Letters to a Young Farmer(2017)

Leave a Comment