Judy Blume Books In Order

Judy Blume is a renowned American author, celebrated for her significant contribution to children’s and young adult literature. Born on February 12, 1938, in Elizabeth, New Jersey, Blume has touched the hearts of multiple generations with her insightful, empathetic, and often groundbreaking novels.

Blume’s journey as an author began in the 1960s, but it was in the 1970s that she emerged as a leading voice in young adult fiction. Her books have been praised for their honest and sensitive treatment of topics that were, at the time, considered taboo in children’s literature, such as puberty, racism, and bullying.

One of her most famous works, “Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret,” published in 1970, exemplifies her approach to writing. The book, which addresses a young girl’s exploration of religion and her struggles with puberty, was groundbreaking in its candid treatment of subjects rarely discussed so openly in children’s literature.

Other notable works include “Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing,” “Blubber,” “Deenie,” and “Forever.” These novels often focus on the challenges and complexities of growing up, characterized by Blume’s frank and compassionate narrative style. Her characters are relatable and her storytelling, approachable, which has made her books a staple of adolescent reading.

Beyond young adult fiction, Judy Blume has also written for adults, with novels like “Wifey” and “Summer Sisters,” and has ventured into picture books for younger children.

Blume’s contribution to literature has been widely recognized with numerous awards and honors, including the Library of Congress Living Legends Award. Her work has not only been formative for countless young readers but has also opened the door for more open discussions in children’s literature about the realities of growing up. Judy Blume remains a beloved and influential figure in the literary world, known for her ability to connect with her readers through the universal experience of adolescence.

Judy Blume Author Profile

BornElizabeth, New Jersey, The United States
GenreChildren’s Books, Young Adult

Publication Order of Fudge Books

Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing(1972)
Otherwise Known as Sheila the Great(1972)
Double Fudge(2002)

Publication Order of BFF Books

Just As Long As We’re Together(1986)
Here’s to You, Rachel Robinson(1993)

Publication Order of Pain & The Great One Books

Soupy Saturdays(2007)
Cool Zone(2008)
Going, Going, Gone(2008)
Friend or Fiend?(2008)

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret(1970)
Iggie’s House(1970)
Then Again, Maybe I Won’t(1971)
It’s Not the End of the World(1972)
Starring Sally J. Freedman as Herself(1977)
Tiger Eyes(1981)
Smart Women(1983)
Summer Sisters(1998)
In the Unlikely Event(2015)

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Pain and the Great One: Go Places!(2015)

Publication Order of Picture Books

The One in the Middle Is the Green Kangaroo(1969)
Freckle Juice(By: Emily Gravett)(1978)

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Judy Blume Diary(1981)
Letters to Judy: What Kids Wish They Could Tell You(1986)
The Judy Blume Memory Book(1988)

Publication Order of Anthologies

Places I Never Meant To Be(1999)
It’s Fine to Be Nine(2000)
It’s Heaven to Be Seven(2000)

More Children’s Authors Like Judy Blume

If you like Judy Blume, then why not check out these authors…

Julia Donaldson
Jeff Kinney
Gordon Korman
Lois Lowry
Megan McDonald
Sara Pennypacker

Leave a Comment