David Walliams Books In Order

David Walliams: The Heart and Humor of Children’s Literature

In the enchanting world of children’s literature, David Walliams has emerged as a storyteller par excellence, known for his whimsical tales, vibrant characters, and the gentle heart that beats at the core of his stories. Born in London in 1971, Walliams first gained fame as a comedian and actor, but it is his second act as a children’s author that has cemented his place in the literary world.

A Modern-Day Dahl: The Essence of Walliams’ Storytelling

Walliams’ writing, often compared to the legendary Roald Dahl, is characterized by its unique blend of humor, wit, and a dash of the absurd. His stories, while immensely entertaining, are not just mere escapades into fantastical worlds. They carry within them messages of kindness, acceptance, and the celebration of individuality. From “The Boy in the Dress” to “Gangsta Granny,” Walliams’ books offer a fresh, contemporary take on children’s literature, resonating with young readers and adults alike.

Characters that Leap Off the Page

The strength of Walliams’ writing lies in his ability to create characters that are both outlandishly funny and deeply relatable. His protagonists, often underdogs, navigate their worlds with a blend of courage and vulnerability that speaks directly to the experiences of his young readers. Through these characters, Walliams tackles complex themes such as family dynamics, social issues, and the trials of growing up, all wrapped in a package of humor and adventure.

The Power of Laughter and Empathy

One of the most remarkable aspects of Walliams’ work is his use of humor as a tool for empathy and understanding. His stories, while laugh-out-loud funny, are also deeply empathetic portrayals of the human (and sometimes non-human) experience. This combination of humor and heart is what sets Walliams’ books apart, making them not just enjoyable reads but important ones.

A Modern Voice for Timeless Themes

David Walliams’ contribution to children’s literature extends beyond the boundaries of his books. Through his storytelling, he has brought to life a world where differences are celebrated, where the odd and the quirky are embraced, and where kindness reigns supreme. His books have become a gateway for young readers to explore and understand the world around them, fostering a love for reading that will last a lifetime.

In Summary: A Journey of Joy and Growth

To delve into a David Walliams book is to embark on a journey of joy, laughter, and growth. His stories are a testament to the power of children’s literature to shape minds, touch hearts, and ignite imaginations. As he continues to write and inspire, David Walliams’ legacy in the world of children’s literature only grows, reminding us of the magic that can be found within the pages of a book.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Boy in the Dress(2008)
Mr Stink(2009)
Billionaire Boy(2010)
Gangsta Granny(2011)
Demon Dentist(2013)
Awful Auntie(2014)
Mr Mingin: Mr Stink in Scots(2015)
Grandpa’s Great Escape(2015)
The Midnight Gang(2016)
Bad Dad(2017)
The World of David Walliams Book of Stuff(2018)
The Ice Monster(2018)
The Beast of Buckingham Palace(2019)
Code Name Bananas(2020)

Publication Order of Picture Books

The Slightly Annoying Elephant(2013)
The First Hippo on the Moon(2014)
The Queen’s Orang-Utan(2015)
The Bear Who Went Boo!(2015)
There’s a Snake in My School(2016)
Boogie Bear(2018)
Vain Valentine(2019)
The Creature Choir(2019)
Little Monsters(2021)
Marmalade: The Orange Panda(2022)
The Blunders(2023)

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The World’s Worst Children(2016)
The World’s Worst Children 2(2017)
The World’s Worst Children 3(2018)
The World’s Worst Teachers(2019)
The World’s Worst Parents(2020)

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Inside Little Britain(2006)
Camp David(2012)

Graphic Novels By David Walliams In Order of Publicattion


Leave a Comment