Sunny Hostin Books In Order

Sunny Hostin, an American lawyer, journalist, and television host, has also made a notable impact in the world of literature with her insightful and engaging writing. Born as Asunción Cummings on October 20, 1968, in New York City, Hostin’s multifaceted career and diverse experiences have deeply informed her approach to storytelling.

Hostin’s journey into authorship extends from her accomplished career in law and journalism. Known to many as a co-host on ABC’s “The View,” she has built a reputation for her sharp legal analysis, informed perspectives on social justice issues, and her ability to articulate complex topics with clarity and depth. This skill set naturally transitioned into her writing, where she brings the same level of insight and engagement.

Her debut novel, “Summer on the Bluffs,” released in 2021, marks her foray into fiction. The book is a compelling exploration of family, identity, and belonging, set against the backdrop of Oak Bluffs, an exclusive Black beach community on Martha’s Vineyard. Hostin’s narrative weaves together the lives of three adopted daughters and the family matriarch, exploring themes of love, legacy, and the search for one’s true self.

What makes Hostin’s writing stand out is her ability to infuse her narratives with the richness of her cultural heritage and her experiences as a lawyer and journalist. Her characters are well-rounded, and their stories reflect a deep understanding of the complexities of human relationships and societal dynamics.

Aside from fiction, Hostin has also authored a memoir, “I Am These Truths: A Memoir of Identity, Justice, and Living Between Worlds,” which delves into her personal and professional journey, discussing her upbringing in the South Bronx, her career in law and television, and her insights on race, justice, and the American legal system.

Sunny Hostin’s contribution to literature blends her legal acumen, journalistic integrity, and a passionate voice for social justice. Through her engaging and thought-provoking writing, she offers readers not just stories, but a window into the realities of contemporary life, identity, and the ongoing struggle for equality and understanding. Her work stands as a testament to the power of storytelling in shaping conversations and reflecting the diverse tapestry of human experience.

Below is a list of her books in chronological order of publication.

Publication Order of Summer Beach Books

Summer on the Bluffs(2021)
Summer on Sag Harbor(2023)
Summer on Highland Beach(2024)

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

I Am These Truths(2020)

Leave a Comment