Louisa May Alcott Books In Order

Below is the complete list of Louisa May Alcott books in chronological order of publication.

Publication Order of Little Women Books

Little Women, or Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy(1868)
Good Wives(1869)
Little Men: Life at Plumfield with Jo’s Boys(1871)
Jo’s Boys and How They Turned Out(1886)

Publication Order of Aunt Jo’s Scrap Bag Books

Aunt Jo’s Scrap-Bag(1872)
Cupid and Chow Chow(1873)
My Girls(1877)
Jimmy’s Cruise in the Pinafore Etc.(1879)
An Old-Fashioned Thanksgiving(1882)

Publication Order of Eight Cousins Books

Eight Cousins or The Aunt-Hill(1875)
Rose in Bloom(1876)

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Inheritance(1849)
An Old-Fashioned Girl(1869)
A Modern Mephistopheles(1877)
Under the Lilacs(1878)
Jack & Jill(1880)
Proverb Stories(1882)
Lulu’s Library(1886)
A Long Fatal Love Chase(1995)

Publication Order of Collections

Flower Fables(1854)
A Modern Cinderella(1860)
On Picket Duty, and Other Tales(1864)
A Marble Woman(With: Madeleine B. Stern)(1865)
Behind a Mask(By: Madeleine B. Stern)(1867)
Kitty’s Class Day and Other Stories(1882)
Spinning-Wheel Stories(1884)
A Garland for Girls(1887)
A Whisper in the Dark(1889)
The Louisa Alcott Reader(1908)
Glimpses of Louisa(1968)
Short Stories(1968)
Plots and Counterplots(By: Madeleine B. Stern)(1976)
An Intimate Anthology(With: Madeleine B. Stern)(1980)
Selected Fiction(1980)
Hidden Louisa May Alcott(With: Madeleine B. Stern)(1984)
Works of Louisa May Alcott(By: Darryl Marks)(1986)
A Double Life(1988)
Louisa May Alcott’s Fairy Tales and Fantasy Stories(1992)
The Lost Stories of Louisa May Alcott(With: Madeleine B. Stern)(1993)
Louisa May Alcott Unmasked(By: Madeleine B. Stern)(1995)
Modern Magic(1995)
The Quiet Little Woman(1999)
The Poems of Louisa May Alcott(2000)
The Early Stories of Louisa May Alcott, 1852-1860(2000)
Louisa May Alcott’s Christmas Treasury(2002)
The Brownie and the PrincessOther Stories(2004)
Doctor Dorn’s Revenge and A Strange Island(2007)
The Candy Country and How They Ran Away(2008)
The Poetry of Louisa May Alcott(2012)
A Vintage Christmas(2018)
May Flowers(2019)
A Merry Christmas and Other Christmas Stories(2019)

Publication Order of Chapbooks

Transcendental Wild Oats(1873)
Marjorie’s Three Gifts(1899)
Diana & Persis(1978)
Kate’s Choice(2001)
Debby’s Debut(2010)
Love and Self Love(2010)

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Pauline’s Passion and Punishment(1862)
The Abbot’s Ghost, Or Maurice Treheme’s Temptation(1867)
Perilous Play, And, Lost in a Pyramid or the Mummy’s Curse(1869)
Poppies and Wheat(1900)
Trudel’s Siege(1976)
Scarlet Stockings(2004)
The Baron’s Gloves(2005)
Silver Pitchers and Independence(2007)
Little Button Rose(2008)
The Mysterious Key and What It Opened(2010)
The King of Clubs and the Queen of Hearts(2013)
The Death of John(2013)
The Cross on the Old Church Tower(2013)
On Picket Duty(2014)
Doctor Dorn’s Revenge(2015)
Effie’s Christmas Dream(2015)
The Dolls’ Journey(2015)
The Blind Lark(2016)
Comic Tragedies(2016)
How They Ran Away(2016)
Sophie’s Secret(2016)
Lilybell and Thistledown(2016)
The Brownie and the Princess(2017)
Kitty’s Class Day(2018)
Pansies and Water-Lilies(2018)
The Mysterious Key(2019)
Lost in a Pyramid(2019)

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Civil War Hospital Sketches(1863)
Hospital Sketches(1863)
Behind a Mask, or a Woman’s Power(1866)
Louisa May Alcott: Her Life, Letters and Journals(1889)
The Selected Letters of Louisa May Alcott(By: Madeleine B. Stern)(1987)
The Journals Of Louisa May Alcott(With: Madeleine B. Stern)(1989)
The Girlhood Diary of Louisa May Alcott, 1843-1846(1993)
Louisa May Alcott On Race, Sex, And Slavery(1997)
The Sketches of Louisa May Alcott(2001)
Louisa May Alcott’s Civil War(2006)

Publication Order of Graphic Classics Books

Graphic Classics, Volume 9: Robert Louis Stevenson(By: Tom Pomplun,Michael Slack)(2004)
Graphic Classics, Volume 9: 2nd Edition Robert Louis Stevenson(By: Mat Johnson,Jeremy Love,Christopher J. Priest,Stan Shaw,Kyle Baker,Tom Pomplun,Lance Tooks,Randy DuBurke,Trevor Von Eeden,Jimmie Robinson,John Jennings,Afua Richardson,Milton Knight,Alex Simmons,Arie Monroe,Kevin Taylor,Leilani Hickerson,Kenjji Marshall,Keith Mallett,Larry Poncho Brown,Glenn Brewer,Masheka Wood,Titus V. Thomas,Mac McGill,Kevin Hendrix,James Webb)(2004)
Graphic Classics, Vol. 6(By: Tom Pomplun)(2014)

Publication Order of Portraits of Little Women Books

(with Susan Beth Pfeffer)

Meg’s Story(By: Susan Beth Pfeffer)(1997)
Jo’s Story(By: Susan Beth Pfeffer)(1997)
Beth’s Story(By: Susan Beth Pfeffer)(1997)
Amy’s Story(By: Susan Beth Pfeffer)(1997)
Meg Makes a Friend(By: Susan Beth Pfeffer)(1998)
Jo Makes a Friend(By: Susan Beth Pfeffer)(1998)
Beth Makes a Friend(By: Susan Beth Pfeffer)(1998)
Amy Makes a Friend(By: Susan Beth Pfeffer)(1998)
Christmas Dreams(By: Susan Beth Pfeffer)(1998)
A Gift for Jo(By: Susan Beth Pfeffer)(1999)
A Gift for Meg(By: Susan Beth Pfeffer)(1999)
A Gift for Amy(By: Susan Beth Pfeffer)(1999)
Birthday Wishes(By: Susan Beth Pfeffer)(1999)
Ghostly Tales(By: Susan Beth Pfeffer)(2000)

Publication Order of Anthologies

A St. Nicholas Anthology(1969)
The Wimbourne Book of Victorian Ghost Stories: Volume 2(2016)
The Occult Fiction Collection(2019)
Women Who Wrote(2020)
The Dover Anthology of Classic Christmas Stories(2023)

More about Louisa May Alcott

Early Years and Family Influence
Louisa May Alcott, born on November 29, 1832, in Germantown, Pennsylvania, was an American novelist best known for her novel “Little Women.” Alcott was raised in New England by her transcendentalist parents, Abigail May and Amos Bronson Alcott, alongside her three sisters. The family’s involvement with progressive social movements, including abolitionism and women’s suffrage, played a significant role in shaping Alcott’s worldview.

Struggle and Literary Aspirations
The Alcott family struggled financially, and Louisa took on work at an early age to help support them. These financial struggles, combined with the rich intellectual atmosphere provided by her parents and their circle—including Ralph Waldo Emerson and Henry David Thoreau—fueled her ambition to write.

Literary Career and “Little Women”
Alcott began writing for the Atlantic Monthly, and her first book, “Flower Fables,” was published when she was just 22. However, it was the publication of “Little Women” in 1868 that brought Alcott international fame. The novel, based on her own experiences growing up with her sisters, was praised for its relatable characters and heartfelt depiction of family life.

Writing Style and Themes
Alcott’s writing was characterized by her candid and straightforward style. She often explored themes of domesticity, work, and true love, but she also delved into deeper issues such as women’s independence, the pursuit of personal ambition, and the abolitionist cause.

Later Life and Continued Success
Following the success of “Little Women,” Alcott continued to write prolifically, producing sequels to her most famous work and several other novels, short stories, and poems. Despite battling health issues in her later years, she remained dedicated to her craft.

Death and Enduring Legacy
Louisa May Alcott passed away on March 6, 1888, just two days after the death of her father. Her legacy, however, lives on. “Little Women” and her other works continue to be read and beloved by audiences around the world, and her stories have been adapted into numerous films and plays. Alcott remains a seminal figure in American literature, her works standing as a testament to the talent and determination of a woman who transcended the constraints of her era to become one of its most enduring voices.

Leave a Comment