John Sandford Books In Order – Author of Toxic Prey

John Sandford, born John Roswell Camp on February 23, 1944, in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, transitioned from a distinguished journalist to a prolific author, crafting some of the most compelling narratives in modern crime fiction. His Midwestern roots, coupled with a keen interest in the complexities of criminal psychology, have colored his narratives, giving them a unique authenticity and grounding.

See all of John Sandford’s Books in Order here>>>

After earning a Bachelor’s in American Studies from the University of Iowa, where he honed his writing and research skills, Sandford didn’t immediately dive into fiction writing. Instead, his career path led him into journalism, a field where he excelled, receiving the Pulitzer Prize in 1986 for a series of stories on the farm crisis in the Midwest. This experience in journalism, particularly the investigative aspect, laid a robust foundation for his future in crime fiction writing.

Sandford’s foray into the literary world was marked by the introduction of Lucas Davenport in “Rules of Prey” (1989). Davenport, a detective with a keen mind for crime-solving and a complex moral compass, quickly became a beloved character among readers. Sandford’s ability to blend intricate plotting with deeply fleshed-out characters set his work apart. The “Prey” series, featuring Davenport, grew to become a staple of the genre, beloved for its thrilling narratives and psychological depth.

Beyond the “Prey” series, Sandford expanded his literary universe with the creation of Virgil Flowers, a detective with a penchant for band T-shirts and a laid-back approach to law enforcement, contrasting Davenport’s intensity. Flowers, introduced in “Dark of the Moon” (2007), offered readers a new perspective on crime-solving within the same Sandford universe, highlighting the author’s versatility and deep understanding of human nature.

Sandford’s writing process, informed by his journalism background, involves meticulous research and planning. His novels, while fictional, are grounded in reality, addressing contemporary issues and exploring the intricacies of crime and justice. Sandford’s dedication to authenticity brings his readers into the heart of the action, making each mystery not just a story to enjoy but an experience to inhabit.

Throughout his career, Sandford has been recognized for his contributions to the genre, not only through reader admiration but also through awards and accolades. However, it’s his ability to consistently deliver engaging, thought-provoking, and suspenseful stories that has cemented his status as a master of crime fiction.

Residing with his family, Sandford’s life outside of writing is as rich and full as the stories he pens. His love for the outdoors and active lifestyle often mirrors that of his characters, bringing a sense of dynamism and energy to his work. Even with numerous bestsellers under his belt, Sandford remains dedicated to exploring new stories and delving deeper into the dark corners of criminal minds, promising his readers many more thrilling adventures to come.

Prey/Lucas Davenport Books in Order of Publication

Rules of Prey(1989)
Shadow Prey(1990)
Eyes of Prey(1991)
Silent Prey(1992)
Winter Prey(1993)
Night Prey(1994)
Mind Prey(1995)
Sudden Prey(1996)
Secret Prey(1998)
Certain Prey(1999)
Easy Prey(2000)
Chosen Prey(2001)
Mortal Prey(2002)
Naked Prey(2003)
Hidden Prey(2004)
Broken Prey(2005)
Invisible Prey(2007)
Phantom Prey(2008)
Wicked Prey(2009)
Storm Prey(2010)
Buried Prey(2011)
Stolen Prey(2012)
Silken Prey(2013)
Field of Prey(2014)
Gathering Prey(2015)
Extreme Prey(2016)
Golden Prey(2017)
Twisted Prey(2018)
Neon Prey(2019)
Masked Prey(2020)
Ocean Prey(2021)
Righteous Prey(2022)
Judgment Prey(2023)
Toxic Prey(2024)

Lucas Davenport vs. Lincoln Rhyme Short Stories/Novellas in Order of Publication

Rhymes With Prey: Lincoln Rhyme vs. Lucas Davenport(With: Jeffery Deaver)(2014)

Letty Davenport Books in Order of Publication

The Investigator(2022)
Dark Angel(2023)
Toxic Prey(2024)

Kidd & LuEllen Books in Order of Publication

The Fool’s Run(1989)
The Empress File(1991)
The Devil’s Code(2000)
The Hanged Man’s Song(2003)

Virgil Flowers Books in Order of Publication

Dark of the Moon(2004)
Heat Lightning(2008)
Rough Country(2009)
Bad Blood(2010)
Shock Wave(2011)
Mad River(2012)
Storm Front(2013)
Escape Clause(2016)
Deep Freeze(2017)
Holy Ghost(2018)
Bloody Genius(2019)
Ocean Prey(2021)
Righteous Prey(2022)
Judgment Prey(2023)

Singular Menace Books with Michele Cook in Order of Publication


Standalone Novels in Order of Publication

The Night Crew(1997)
Dead Watch(2006)
Saturn Run(2015)

The MatchUp Collection Books in Order of Publication

Honor & …(By: C.J. Box,Sandra Brown)(2017)
Deserves to Be Dead(With: Lisa Jackson)(2017)
Getaway(By: Lisa Scottoline,Nelson DeMille)(2017)
Midnight Flame(By: Christopher Rice,Lara Adrian)(2018)
Short Story(By: Karin Slaughter,Michael Koryta)(2019)
Past Prologue(By: Diana Gabaldon,Steve Berry)(2019)
Faking a Murderer(By: Lee Child,Kathy Reichs)(2019)
Dig Here(By: Charlaine Harris,Andrew Gross)(2019)
Taking the Veil(By: J.A. Jance,Eric Van Lustbader)(2019)
Rambo on Their Minds(By: Gayle Lynds,David Morrell)(2019)
Footloose(By: Val McDermid,Peter James)(2019)

Corinne Demas Picture Books in Order of Publication

Nina’s Waltz(By: Corinne Demas,Deborah Lanino)(2000)
Hurricane!(By: Corinne Demas,Lenice Strohmeier)(2000)
The Boy Who Was Generous With Salt(By: Michael Hays,Corinne Demas)(2002)
Saying Goodbye to LuLu(By: Corinne Demas)(2004)
Two Christmas Mice(By: Corinne Demas,Stephanie Roth Sisson)(2005)
Yuck! Stuck In The Muck(By: Laura Rader,Corinne Demas)(2006)
Valentine Surprise(By: R.W. Alley,Corinne Demas)(2007)
Pirates Go to School(By: John Manders,Corinne Demas)(2011)
Halloween Surprise(By: R.W. Alley,Corinne Demas)(2011)
Does A Fiddler Crab Fiddle?(With: Corinne Demas,Artemis Roehrig)(2016)
Are Pirates Polite?(By: David Catrow,Corinne Demas,Artemis Roehrig)(2016)
Do Jellyfish Like Peanut Butter?(By: Ellen Shi,Corinne Demas,Artemis Roehrig)(2020)
The Grumpy Pirate(By: Corinne Demas,Artemis Roehrig,Ashlyn Anstee)(2020)
The Perfect Tree(By: Corinne Demas,Penelope Dullaghan)(2022)
Once There Was(By: Corinne Demas,Gemma Capdevila)(2023)

Matthew Hope Books in Order of Publication

Goldilocks(By: Ed McBain)(1976)
Rumpelstiltskin(By: Ed McBain)(1981)
Beauty And The Beast(By: Ed McBain)(1982)
Jack and the Beanstalk(By: Ed McBain)(1984)
Snow White and Rose Red(By: Ed McBain)(1985)
Cinderella(By: Ed McBain)(1986)
Puss in Boots(By: Ed McBain)(1987)
The House That Jack Built(By: Ed McBain)(1988)
Three Blind Mice(By: Ed McBain)(1990)
Mary, Mary(By: Ed McBain)(1991)
There Was A Little Girl(By: Ed McBain)(1994)
Gladly the Cross-Eyed Bear(By: Ed McBain)(1996)
The Last Best Hope(By: Ed McBain)(1998)

Anthologies in Order of Publication

The Best American Mystery Stories 2017(2017)

Leave a Comment