Carl Hiaasen Books In Order

Carl Hiaasen, with his razor-sharp wit and a keen eye for the absurd, has become one of the most distinctive voices in contemporary American literature. Born and raised in Florida, a state known for its sun-soaked beaches as much as its colorful characters, Hiaasen’s writing is deeply infused with the spirit of his homeland. His novels, brimming with satire and environmental advocacy, offer a hilariously scathing critique of human folly and the destruction of natural beauty.

See All Carl Hiaasen Books In Order

Before Hiaasen turned his hand to fiction, he honed his skills as a journalist with the Miami Herald, starting in the late 1970s. It was here, in the trenches of investigative reporting, that he developed a knack for uncovering the absurd and often corrupt underbelly of Florida life—a theme that would become a hallmark of his novels. His journalistic work not only earned him a reputation as a dogged reporter but also provided fertile ground for his fiction writing.

Hiaasen’s debut novel, “Tourist Season,” published in 1986, introduced readers to his unique blend of crime, satire, and environmental activism, setting the stage for a career that would span decades. His books frequently feature unlikely heroes battling against the forces of destruction—be they greedy developers, corrupt politicians, or clueless tourists—intent on ruining the natural paradise of Florida.

One of Hiaasen’s most beloved characters, Skink, a rogue ex-governor turned eco-warrior, embodies the author’s environmental zeal and his disillusionment with political systems. Skink’s outrageous antics and deep love for Florida’s wilderness have endeared him to readers and spotlighted Hiaasen’s concern for the environment.

Beyond his adult novels, Hiaasen has also made his mark in the world of children’s literature, beginning with “Hoot” in 2002. This foray into youth fiction has allowed him to share his passion for nature and conservation with a younger audience, all while entertaining them with stories of adventure and youthful defiance.

Despite his success as a novelist, Hiaasen has never abandoned his journalistic roots, continuing to contribute columns to the Miami Herald. His writing, whether fiction or non-fiction, reflects a deep commitment to social and environmental issues, delivered with a humor that both entertains and enlightens.

Carl Hiaasen remains a beloved figure in American literature, a writer who can elicit laughs even as he makes readers think critically about the world around them. His body of work is a tribute to the weird, wild beauty of Florida and a call to action to protect it from those who seek to exploit its riches. In a world often overwhelmed by gloom, Hiaasen’s novels shine a light on the importance of caring for our environment and the power of standing up for what’s right, all while providing a thoroughly entertaining read.

Publication Order of Black Lizard Books

Powder Burn(With: William D. Montalbano)(1981)
Trap Line(With: William D. Montalbano)(1982)
A Death in China(With: William D. Montalbano)(1984)
The Sinners of San Ramon(1989)

Publication Order of Skink Books

Double Whammy(1987)
Native Tongue(1991)
Stormy Weather(1995)
Sick Puppy(2000)
Skinny Dip(2004)
Star Island(2010)
Skink–No Surrender(2014)
Some sites consider Squeeze Me as part of this series, where Skink plays a very small role.

Publication Order of Mick Stranahan Books

Skin Tight(1989)
Skinny Dip(2004)

Publication Order of Juvenile Books


Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Tourist Season(1986)
Strip Tease(1993)
Lucky You(1997)
Basket Case(2002)
Nature Girl(2006)
Bad Monkey(2013)
Razor Girl(2016)
Squeeze Me(2020)

Publication Order of Picture Books

The Edible Exile(2013)

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Team Rodent : How Disney Devours the World(1998)
Kick Ass: Selected Columns of Carl Hiaasen(1999)
Paradise Screwed: Selected Columns of Carl Hiaasen(2001)
The Downhill Lie / Fairway to Hell(2008)
Dance of the Reptiles(2014)
Assume the Worst(2018)

Publication Order of Anthologies

Naked Came the Manatee(1997)
Writers on Writing(2001)
The Best American Mystery Stories 2007(2007)

Leave a Comment