Nick Petrie Books In Order

Nick Petrie, a name now familiar to thriller enthusiasts, has built a reputation as a master of action-packed narratives, with his creation, Peter Ash, drawing comparisons to the likes of Jack Reacher. Yet, Petrie’s journey to literary acclaim is a tale of resilience, perseverance, and the transformative power of storytelling.

See all Nick Petrie Books In Order

Petrie’s entry into the world of writing was heralded by early signs of promise. His talent for crafting engaging narratives was recognized during his undergraduate years at the University of Michigan, where he won a Hopwood Award for a short story. His prowess continued to manifest in “The Laundromat,” a piece that clinched the Seattle Review Short Story contest in 2006. These early achievements hinted at a burgeoning talent, one that would soon find its place in the broader literary conversation.

Despite his literary inclinations, Petrie’s life was far from confined to the written word. He has always had a knack for tangible, hands-on work. From roofing to carpentry, Petrie found solace and satisfaction in the immediacy of physical labor, a stark contrast to the often-intangible milestones of a writing career. This duality of interests—crafting stories and building structures—offers a glimpse into the multifaceted nature of his creativity.

Petrie’s foray into the world of home inspection served as a bridge between these worlds, combining the tangible results of manual labor with the human stories that homes could tell. It was during this period that the seeds for his debut novel were sown, rooted in the stories of veterans striving for normalcy in the domestic sphere.

Nick Petrie’s literary career took shape amidst a backdrop of rejection and perseverance. His initial manuscripts faced rejection, but these setbacks did not deter him. Instead, they fueled his determination to refine his craft. “The Drifter,” his debut novel, emerged not as a first attempt but as the culmination of years of writing, rewriting, and relentless pursuit of storytelling excellence. Petrie’s journey underscores the reality that behind every published book lies a trail of unseen efforts and undeterred commitment.

“The Drifter” introduces readers to Peter Ash, a veteran grappling with the aftermath of war, whose narrative arc explores themes of loyalty, redemption, and the search for peace. Petrie’s work is distinguished by its authentic portrayal of veterans’ experiences, a testament to his in-depth research and empathetic engagement with his subjects. His books do not merely entertain; they offer a window into the struggles and resilience of those who have served.

Petrie’s continued success, evidenced by nominations for prestigious awards like the Edgar Award, Barry Awards, and a Hammett Prize, speaks to his ability to connect with readers through compelling storytelling and complex characterizations. Beyond the accolades, Petrie’s work resonates with readers for its heartfelt exploration of human strength and fragility.

Today, Nick Petrie is celebrated not only for his thrilling narratives but also for his contribution to the dialogue around veterans’ issues. Through Peter Ash, Petrie has crafted a series that bridges the gap between action-packed adventure and thoughtful exploration of the human condition. His journey from aspiring writer to acclaimed author is a reminder of the power of perseverance, the importance of authentic storytelling, and the impact literature can have on our understanding of the world and each other.

Peter Ash Books In Order Of Publication

The Drifter(2016)
Burning Bright(2017)
Light It Up(2018)
Tear It Down(2019)
The Wild One(2020)
The Breaker(2021)
The Runaway(2022)
The Price You Pay / The Heavy Lift(2024)

Leave a Comment