Cherie Priest Books In Order

Cherie Priest, an American novelist acclaimed for her distinct voice in the speculative fiction genre, was born on July 30, 1975, in Tampa, Florida. Her work, particularly in the steampunk subgenre, has garnered a devoted following and critical acclaim for its fresh perspective and imaginative storytelling.

Priest’s journey into the world of writing began with her passion for storytelling and an affinity for the speculative and the eerie. She pursued her academic interests in this field, earning a degree in Rhetoric from the University of Tennessee and later an MA in Professional Writing from the University of Chattanooga. These academic pursuits honed her skills in narrative construction and deepened her appreciation for the craft of writing.

Her breakthrough in the literary world came with the “Clockwork Century” series, a collection of steampunk novels set in an alternate version of 19th century America. Beginning with “Boneshaker” in 2009, the series received widespread acclaim for its unique blend of history, technology, and adventure. Priest’s ability to create a vivid, alternate reality distinguished her work in the crowded field of speculative fiction.

Beyond the “Clockwork Century,” Priest has penned numerous other novels and short stories, showcasing her versatility across different facets of speculative fiction. Her works often feature strong, relatable characters, immersive world-building, and a seamless blending of the supernatural with historical elements.

Priest’s writing style is characterized by a fluid narrative and an ability to weave complex stories that are both engaging and thought-provoking. Her exploration of themes such as identity, technology, and history through the lens of speculative fiction has resonated with a wide range of readers.

Residing in the Pacific Northwest, Cherie Priest continues to be a significant figure in contemporary speculative fiction. Her contributions to the genre have been recognized with numerous nominations and awards, solidifying her position as one of the leading voices in modern speculative storytelling. Her work not only entertains but also invites readers to explore the possibilities of the world around them.

Cherie Priest Profile

BornTampa, Florida, The United States
GenreScience Fiction & Fantasy, Horror, Mystery & Thrillers, Southern Gothic, steampunk
InfluencesEdgar Allen Poe, H.P. Lovecraft, Arthur Conan Doyle, Terry Pratchet, Dashiell Hammett

Find out more about her work with our comprehensive list of all her books in order below.

Eden Moore Books In Order of Publication

Four and Twenty Blackbirds(2005)
Wings to the Kingdom(2006)
Not Flesh Nor Feathers(2007)

Clockwork Century Books In Order of Publication

The Inexplicables(2012)

Chronological Order of Clockwork Century Books

The Inexplicables(2012)

Cheshire Red Reports Books In Order of Publication


“The Borden Dispatches” Books In Order of Publication


Princess X Books In Order of Publication

I Am Princess X(2015)

Leda Foley / Booking Agents Books In Order of Publication

Grave Reservations(2021)
Flight Risk(2022)

Standalone Novels In Order of Publication

Dreadful Skin(2007)
Those Who Went Remain There Still(2008)
The Family Plot(2016)
The Agony House(2018)
The Toll(2019)
The Drowning House(2024)

Short Story Collections In Order of Publication

Holy Terror(2022)

Anthologies In Order of Publication

Mythic 2(2006)
Aegri Somnia(2006)
Son of Retro Pulp Tales(2009)
Steampunk II: Steampunk Reloaded(2010)
The Living Dead 2(2010)
Bewere the Night(2011)
The Book of Cthulhu(2011)
Creatures: Thirty Years of Monsters(2011)
The Recent Weird(2011)
Steampunk III(2012)
The Mammoth Book of Steampunk(2012)
Steampunk Specs(2013)
The Mammoth Book of Steampunk Adventures(2014)
Out of Tune Book 2(2016)
Scary Out There(2016)
Dark Cities(2017)

Leave a Comment