Emma Bull Books in Order

Emma Bull, a distinguished figure in the world of speculative fiction, has earned acclaim for her unique blend of fantasy and urban storytelling. Born on December 13, 1954, in Torrance, California, Bull’s journey as an American author is marked by a rich imagination and a deep affinity for myth and folklore.

Bull’s passion for storytelling was evident from an early age, and it blossomed as she grew older. Her foray into professional writing began after she moved to Minneapolis, where the vibrant arts and literary scene provided a fertile ground for her creative aspirations. It was here that she started to explore the realms of fantasy and science fiction writing, genres in which she would soon make her mark.

Her debut novel, “War for the Oaks,” published in 1987, is widely regarded as a pioneering work in the urban fantasy genre. The novel, set in Minneapolis, masterfully blends elements of fantasy with a contemporary urban setting, creating a narrative that is both enchanting and relatable. Bull’s ability to infuse her stories with a sense of realism, while still embracing the fantastical, quickly garnered her a dedicated following.

Bull’s writing is characterized by its lyrical prose, well-developed characters, and intricate plotlines. Her stories often delve into themes of identity, conflict, and the intersection of the mundane and magical. Beyond “War for the Oaks,” her body of work includes other notable titles that further showcase her versatility and skill as a storyteller.

In addition to her novels, Emma Bull has contributed to the genre through collaborations and shared world projects, reflecting her belief in the power of communal storytelling and creative exchange. Her work in these collaborative endeavors has further cemented her reputation as a creative force in speculative fiction.

Emma Bull’s influence extends beyond her published works. She is respected not just for her captivating narratives but also for her contribution to the evolution of the fantasy genre. Living a life steeped in creativity and imagination, Bull continues to inspire and captivate readers with her unique vision and storytelling prowess.

Below if the complete works of Emma Bull in chronological order of publishing.

Publication Order of Borderland Books

Elsewhere (By: Will Shetterly)(1991)
Nevernever (By: Will Shetterly)(1993)
Nevernever (By: Will Shetterly)(1993)

Publication Order of Liavek Books

Liavek(With: Will Shetterly)(1985)
The Players of Luck(With: Will Shetterly)(1986)
Wizard’s Row(With: Will Shetterly)(1987)
Spells of Binding(With: Will Shetterly)(1988)
Festival Week(With: Will Shetterly)(1990)
Points of Departure(With: Patricia C. Wrede,Pamela Dean)(2015)

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Bone Dance(1991)
The Princess and the Lord of Night(1994)
Freedom and Necessity(With: Steven Brust)(1997)

Publication Order of Plays

War for the Oaks(1987)

Publication Order of Collections

Double Feature(With: Will Shetterly)(1999)
And Other Stories(With: Will Shetterly)(2012)

Publication Order of Shadow Unit Books with Elizabeth Bear, Will Shetterly, Sarah Monette

Shadow Unit 1(2011)
Shadow Unit 2(2011)
Shadow Unit 3(2011)
Shadow Unit 4(2011)
Shadow Unit 5(2011)
Shadow Unit 6(2011)
Shadow Unit 7(2011)
Shadow Unit 8(2011)
Shadow Unit 9(2011)
Shadow Unit 10(2011)
Shadow Unit 11(2012)
Shadow Unit 12(2012)
Shadow Unit 13(2013)
Shadow Unit 14(2014)
Shadow Unit 15(2014)

Publication Order of Anthologies

Sword and Sorceress(1984)
The Players of Luck(1986)
Hidden Turnings(1989)
Third Annual Collection(1989)
Life on the Border(1991)
After the King(1991)
Seventh Annual Collection(1994)
The Green Man: Tales from the Mythic Forest(2002)
Magical Beginnings(2003)
Firebirds: An Anthology of Original Fantasy and Science Fiction(2003)
New Magics(2004)
The Faery Reel: Tales from the Twilight Realm(2004)
The Book of Ballads(2004)
Firebirds Rising: An Anthology of Original Science Fiction and Fantasy(2005)
Sword and Sorceress 22(2007)
Eclipse Four(2010)
Teeth: Vampire Tales(2011)
Welcome to Bordertown(2011)
The Urban Fantasy Anthology(2011)
Magic City: Recent Spells(2014)
Lightspeed Magazine, July 2014(2014)

Leave a Comment