Frederick Buechner Books in Order

Frederick Buechner (1926-2022) was an American writer, novelist, poet, autobiographer, essayist, preacher, and theologian. Born in New York City, he attended Princeton University and later Union Theological Seminary. Buechner’s work often focused on the intersection of faith, literature, and the human experience, exploring themes of grace, hope, and the search for meaning in a complex world.

Some of his most notable works include the novels “A Long Day’s Dying” (1950), “The Book of Bebb” series (1972-1977), and “Godric” (1980), which was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize. Buechner also wrote memoirs, such as “The Sacred Journey” (1982) and “Telling Secrets” (1991), which delved into his personal life and spiritual journey.

As a theologian, Buechner sought to make religious ideas accessible to a wider audience. His works, including “Wishful Thinking: A Theological ABC” (1973) and “Peculiar Treasures: A Biblical Who’s Who” (1979), offered unique perspectives on religious concepts and figures.

Buechner’s writing style was known for its poetic prose, humor, and profound insights. He received numerous awards throughout his career, including the O. Henry Award, the Rosenthal Award, and the Christianity and Literature Belles Lettres Prize. His works continue to inspire readers, writers, and spiritual seekers alike, leaving a lasting impact on American literature and religious thought.

Frederick Buechner Books In Order

Below we have listed all of the Frederick Buechner books in order of the year they were published, so you can discover more of this great author’s work.

Frederick Buechner Books Published in the 1950’s

A Long Day’s Dying (1950)

The Seasons’ Difference (1952)

The Return of Ansel Gibbs (1958)

Frederick Buechner Books Published in the 1960’s

The Final Beast (1965)

The Magnificent Defeat (1966)

The Hungering Dark (1968)

Frederick Buechner Books Published in the 1970’s

The Alphabet of Grace (1970)

The Entrance to Porlock (1970)

Lion Country (1971)

Open Heart (1972)

Wishful Thinking: A Seeker’s ABC (1973)

The Faces Of Jesus: A Life Story (1974)

Love Feast (1974)

Telling the Truth: The Gospel as Tragedy, Comedy, and Fairy Tale (1977)

Treasure Hunt (1977)

Peculiar Treasures: A Biblical Who’s Who (1979)

The Book of Bebb (1979)

Frederick Buechner Books Published in the 1980’s

Godric (1980)

The Sacred Journey: A Memoir of Early Days (1982)

Now and Then: A Memoir of Vocation (1983)

A Room Called Remember (1984)

Brendan (1987)

Whistling in the Dark: A Doubter’s Dictionary (1988)

Frederick Buechner Books Published in the 1990’s

The Wizard’s Tide (later The Christmas Tide) (1990)

Telling Secrets: A Memoir (1991)

The Clown in the Belfry (1992)

Listening to Your Life: Daily Meditations with Frederick Buechner (1992)

The Son of Laughter (1993)

The Longing for Home (1996)

On the Road with the Archangel (1997)

The Storm (1998)

The Eyes of the Heart: A Memoir of the Lost and Found (1999)

Frederick Buechner Books Published in the 2000’s

Speak What We Feel (Not What We Ought to Say) (2004)

Beyond Words: Daily Readings in the ABC’s of Faith (2004)

The Christmas Tide (previously The Wizard’s Tide) (2005)

Secrets in the Dark: A Life in Sermons (2006)

The Yellow Leaves (2008)

Frederick Buechner Books Published in the 2010’s

A Crazy, Holy Grace: The Healing Power of Pain and Memory (2017)

The Remarkable Ordinary: How to Stop, Look, and Listen to Life (2017)

5 Fascinating Facts About Frederick Buechner

Here are 5 fascinating facts that you may or may not know about Frederick Buechner:

  1. Buechner’s first novel, “A Long Day’s Dying,” was published in 1950 when he was just 23 years old. The novel received critical acclaim and established him as a promising young writer.

  2. He was a close friend of the poet James Merrill, and the two maintained a lengthy correspondence over the years. Their letters were later published in the book “Listening to Your Life: Daily Meditations with Frederick Buechner.”

  3. Buechner was ordained as a Presbyterian minister in 1958, despite not having a traditional theological background. He served as a chaplain at Phillips Exeter Academy for nine years.

  4. In 1985, Buechner was a finalist for the National Book Award for his novel “Brendan,” which was a fictionalized account of the life of the 6th-century Irish saint Brendan the Navigator.

  5. Buechner was a lecturer at Harvard Divinity School and taught writing at Wheaton College in Illinois. He also served as the Lyman Beecher Lecturer at Yale Divinity School and the William Belden Noble Lecturer at Harvard University.

Leave a Comment