Jeff Kinney Books In Order

Jeff Kinney, the creative force behind the phenomenally successful “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” series, was born on February 19, 1971, in Fort Washington, Maryland. His journey to becoming one of the most recognized authors in children’s literature is a story of persistence, creativity, and understanding the pulse of young readers.

Kinney’s childhood, filled with playful adventures and a keen interest in drawing, laid the foundation for his future as a writer and cartoonist. He attended the University of Maryland at College Park, where his comic strip “Igdoof” was featured in the campus newspaper, showcasing his knack for humor and illustration – skills that would become central to his later work.

The idea for “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” first emerged during Kinney’s college years, but it wasn’t until much later that the concept took the shape of a book. Initially envisioned as a comic book for adults, reflecting on the awkward moments of childhood, it eventually evolved into a children’s series. The first “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” book was published in 2007, after years of work and refinement. Its unique format, blending humorous narrative with hand-drawn illustrations, struck a chord with children and adults alike, turning it into an instant hit.

The series, centered around the middle-school misadventures of Greg Heffley, is notable for its relatable characters, witty humor, and accurate depiction of the trials and tribulations of modern school life. Kinney’s ability to articulate the inner workings of a kid’s mind, with all its hopes, fears, and hilariously misguided schemes, has made the series a staple in children’s literature.

Beyond writing, Kinney is also involved in the online gaming industry and played a significant role in creating the kid-friendly website Poptropica. His engagement in diverse creative ventures reflects his multifaceted talent and his commitment to connecting with the younger generation.

Jeff Kinney’s contribution to children’s literature extends beyond entertainment; he has played a significant role in encouraging a love for reading among young readers. His “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” series, now a staple in children’s book collections and adapted into successful films, continues to delight and inspire laughter in readers around the world.

Publication Order of Diary of a Wimpy Kid Books

Diary of a Wimpy Kid(2007)
Rodrick Rules(2008)
The Last Straw(2009)
Dog Days(2009)
The Ugly Truth(2010)
Cabin Fever(2010)
The Third Wheel(2012)
Hard Luck(2013)
The Long Haul(2014)
Old School(2015)
Double Down(2016)
The Getaway(2017)
The Meltdown(2018)
Wrecking Ball(2019)
The Deep End(2020)
Big Shot(2021)
Diper Överlöde(2022)
No Brainer(2023)

Publication Order of Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid Books

Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid(2019)
Rowley Jefferson’s Awesome Friendly Adventure(2020)
Rowley Jefferson’s Awesome Friendly Spooky Stories(2021)

Publication Order of Wimpy Kid Non-Fiction Books

Diary of a Wimpy Kit Do-It-Yourself Book(2008)
The Wimpy Kid Movie Diary(2010)
Diary of a Wimpy Kid Book Journal(2013)
Greetings from Wherever You Are(2014)

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Unaccompanied Minors(With: Adam Rex,Jon Scieszka)(2010)
Diary of a Wimpy Trump(2017)
Diary of Greg Heffley’s Best Friend(2019)

Publication Order of Anthologies

Funny Business(2010)

Leave a Comment