Robert Crais Books In Order

We have put together a list of all Robert Crais books in order of publication. This allows you to explore the evolution of his distinctive storytelling style and enjoy the full range of his imaginative work.

Publication Order of Elvis Cole & Joe Pike Books

The Monkey’s Raincoat(1987)
Stalking the Angel(1989)
Lullaby Town(1992)
Free Fall(1993)
Voodoo River(1995)
Sunset Express(1996)
Indigo Slam(1997)
L. A. Requiem(1999)
The Last Detective(2003)
The Forgotten Man(2005)
The Watchman(2007)
Chasing Darkness(2008)
The First Rule(2010)
The Sentry(2011)
The Promise(2015)
The Wanted(2017)
A Dangerous Man(2019)
Racing the Light(2022)

Publication Order of Scott James & Maggie Books

The Promise(2015)

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Demolition Angel(2000)
The Two Minute Rule(2006)

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas with Jeremiah Healy

The Man Who Knew Dick Bong(2011)

Publication Order of Mysterious Profiles Books

Elvis Cole and Joe Pike(2022)
Jack Taylor(By: Ken Bruen)(2022)
Jack Reacher(By: Lee Child)(2022)
Charlie Parker(By: John Connolly)(2022)
Hieronymus Bosch(By: Michael Connelly)(2022)
Lincoln Rhyme(By: Jeffery Deaver)(2022)
Alex Delaware(By: Jonathan Kellerman)(2022)
Tess Monaghan(By: Laura Lippman)(2022)
Charlie Resnick(By: John Harvey)(2022)
Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus(By: Faye Kellerman)(2022)
Inspector Morse(By: Colin Dexter)(2022)
Dismas Hardy(By: John Lescroart)(2022)
Bob Lee Swagger(By: Stephen Hunter)(2022)
Aloysius X. L. Pendergast(By: Douglas Preston)(2022)
Lou Boldt(By: Ridley Pearson)(2022)
Spenser(By: Robert B. Parker)(2022)
Charlotte and Thomas Pitt(By: Anne Perry)(2022)
John Rebus(By: Ian Rankin)(2022)
Mallory(By: Carol O’Connell)(2022)
Jane Whitefield(By: Thomas Perry)(2022)
Ian Rutledge: A Mysterious Profile(By: Charles Todd)(2022)
Amos Walker(By: Loren D. Estleman)(2022)
Precious Ramotswe(By: Alexander McCall Smith)(2022)
Maisie Dobbs(By: Jacqueline Winspear)(2022)
The Lincoln Lawyer(By: Michael Connelly)(2022)
Ben Kincaid(By: William Bernhardt)(2023)
Repairman Jack(By: F. Paul Wilson)(2023)

Publication Order of Anthologies

Raymond Chandler’s Philip Marlowe(2011)
The Best American Mystery Stories 2012(2012)
Crimespree Magazine #61(2015)

Robert Crais Profile

BornLouisiana, United States, June 20, 1953
GenreCrime Fiction, Mystery, Thrillers.
InfluencesRaymond Chandler, Dashiell Hammett, Ernest Hemingway, Robert B. Parker, John Steinbeck 

More About Robert Crais – Author Bio

Robert Crais, a celebrated American novelist and figure in the genre of crime fiction, was born on June 20, 1953, in Independence, Louisiana. His journey to becoming a bestselling author is marked by his unique blend of intense character studies and gripping plots. Crais’ work, primarily set in the streets of Los Angeles, has earned him a reputation as a master of the modern detective novel.

Crais’ passion for writing emerged early in life, influenced significantly by authors such as Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler. After studying mechanical engineering at Louisiana State University, he moved to Hollywood, where he began his career writing scripts for popular TV shows like “Hill Street Blues,” “Cagney & Lacey,” and “Miami Vice.” This experience in the fast-paced world of television honed his skills in narrative pacing and plot development.

In 1987, Crais made a decisive turn in his career, venturing into novel writing with “The Monkey’s Raincoat,” which introduced the world to Elvis Cole, a wisecracking private detective, and his enigmatic partner, Joe Pike. The novel was a hit and marked the beginning of a series that would become beloved by fans of crime fiction. Crais’ characters, especially Cole and Pike, are complex and multi-dimensional, blending hard-boiled toughness with deep emotional resonance.

Crais’ novels stand out for their rich characterization and intricate plotting. His stories are more than just mysteries; they explore the human psyche, the dark underbelly of Los Angeles, and the nuances of personal relationships. Titles such as “L.A. Requiem” and “The Forgotten Man” have not only entertained readers but have also garnered critical acclaim, earning Crais numerous awards and nominations in the process.

Beyond the Elvis Cole/Joe Pike series, Robert Crais has also penned several standalone novels, further showcasing his versatility as a writer. His commitment to crafting compelling narratives and memorable characters has firmly established him as a significant voice in crime and detective fiction.

Crais’ contribution to the genre extends beyond his novels. He remains a highly respected figure in literary circles, known for his storytelling prowess and his ability to keep readers on the edge of their seats. His work continues to attract a broad readership, solidifying his status as one of the leading writers of contemporary crime fiction.

Leave a Comment