Helen Oyeyemi Books In Order

Below is a list of all Helen Oyeyemi’s books in order of original publication.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Icarus Girl(2005)
The Opposite House(2007)
White is for Witching(2009)
Mr. Fox(2011)
Boy, Snow, Bird(2013)
Parasol Against the Axe(2024)

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Juniper’s Whitening / Victimese(2005)
What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours(2016)

Publication Order of Anthologies

The BBC National Short Story Award 2010(2010)
One for the Trouble: Book Slam Volume 1(2011)
A Cage Went in Search of a Bird: Ten Kafkaesque Stories(2024)

Helen Oyeyemi Author Profile

BornHelen Oyeyemi
10 December 1984 – Ibadan, Nigeria
Notable worksWhat Is Not Yours Is Not Yours (2016)
Notable awardsPEN Open Book Award
InfluencesH D Everett, M R James, Stephen King, Marquez, Daniil Kharms, Margaret Atwood, Steinbeck, the Brontes, Zbigniew Herbert.

More About Helen Oyeyemi

Helen Oyeyemi, a contemporary writer known for her inventive and magical storytelling, was born on December 10, 1984, in Nigeria. Moving to the UK at a young age, Oyeyemi’s rich cultural background and experiences have significantly influenced her writing, infusing it with a unique blend of perspectives.

Oyeyemi’s journey into the literary world began remarkably early. She wrote her first novel, “The Icarus Girl,” while still a student at Cambridge University, studying for her A-levels. The novel, blending elements of Nigerian mythology with a coming-of-age story in Britain, was a critical success and marked Oyeyemi as a significant new voice in contemporary fiction.

Her subsequent novels, including “White is for Witching,” “Mr. Fox,” and “Boy, Snow, Bird,” further established her reputation as a master of weaving the surreal with the everyday. Oyeyemi’s narratives often explore themes of identity, belonging, and the otherworldly, creating spaces where folklore and reality intersect seamlessly.

Oyeyemi’s writing style is notable for its lyrical quality and its bold experimentation with form and structure. Her storytelling is as enchanting as it is challenging, often subverting traditional narrative forms and reader expectations. Her books are not just stories; they are explorations into the complexities of human nature and cultural heritage.

Despite her relatively young age, Oyeyemi has been recognized with numerous awards and accolades for her contribution to literature. Her work has been translated into several languages, making her stories accessible to a global audience.

Helen Oyeyemi continues to be a compelling figure in modern literature, admired for her imaginative power and her ability to tell stories that resonate with a diverse range of readers. Her novels are more than just an escape; they are a window into the depths of the human experience, told with a freshness and vibrancy that is entirely her own.

Leave a Comment