Alex North Books In Order

Below is all of the Alex North books in chronological order of being originally published.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Whisper Man(2019)
The Shadows / The Shadow Friend(2020)
The Angel Maker / The Half Burnt House(2023)

Publication Order of Anthologies

Afraid of the Light(2020)

More About Alex North

Genre: Crime, Thriller
X: @writer_north

Alex North, a pseudonymous British author, has risen to prominence in the realm of psychological thrillers. Hailing from Leeds, England, where he still resides with his wife and son, North’s path to literary success is as intriguing as his novels. His journey began with a solid foundation in philosophy, a subject he studied at Leeds University. Post-graduation, North remained at the university, contributing to the sociology department, a role that likely honed his understanding of human behavior and societal dynamics.

Creative Spark and The Whisper Man
North’s breakthrough novel, “The Whisper Man,” was born out of a curious and slightly unsettling interaction with his son, who mentioned playing with “the boy in the floor.” This eerie anecdote, combined with North’s fascination with the creepy threads online about unsettling things children say, like the imaginary “man with the long neck,” provided the creative impetus for the novel. “The Whisper Man” quickly became an instant New York Times Bestseller, earning widespread acclaim for its suspenseful and chilling narrative. The story, set in the fictional town of Featherbank, revolves around the characters Tom Kennedy and his son Jake, who move to Tom’s hometown seeking a fresh start, only to find themselves entangled in a dark history involving a serial killer known as the Whisper Man.

Success and Adaptation
“The Whisper Man” was not just a literary success; it attracted the attention of the production company AGBO, founded by the renowned Russo brothers. As a fan of their work, North was thrilled with the prospect of his novel being adapted into a film, especially given its optioning even before the book’s public release.

The Shadows: A Novel
Following the success of “The Whisper Man,” North authored “The Shadows: A Novel.” Comparable to the works of Stephen King in its blend of the real and the nightmarish, the novel explores the blurred lines between dreams and reality. The story centers on Charlie Crabtree, a teenager with a dark imagination, who commits a shocking murder, and Paul Adams, whose life is intertwined with the crime. “The Shadows” cements North’s reputation as a master storyteller capable of weaving narratives that are as haunting as they are compelling.

Mystique and Influence
Alex North’s decision to write under a pseudonym, keeping his true identity concealed, adds a layer of mystique to his persona, mirroring the atmospheric suspense of his novels. This choice, along with his earlier publications under a different name (which he has chosen not to disclose), contributes to the intrigue surrounding his work and identity.

Current Endeavors
Today, Alex North continues to captivate readers with his skillful storytelling and mastery of psychological thriller elements, establishing himself as a significant contemporary voice in the genre. His exploration of deep-seated fears, the complexities of human nature, and the power of past traumas resonate with readers, making his novels a staple for fans of suspenseful, thought-provoking fiction.

Leave a Comment