Beatrix Potter Books In Order

Explore the charming collection of Beatrix Potter’s works, presented here in chronological order of publication. Delve into the timeless world she created, from her earliest tales to her later works.

Beatrix Potter Picture Books In Order of Publication

The Tale of Peter Rabbit(1901)
The Tale of Squirrel Nutkin(1903)
The Tailor of Gloucester(1903)
The Tale of Benjamin Bunny(1904)
The Tale of Two Bad Mice(1904)
The Tale of Mrs. Tiggy-Winkle(1905)
The Tale of The Pie and The Patty-Pan(1905)
The Story of Miss Moppet(1906)
The Tale of Mr. Jeremy Fisher(1906)
The Story of A Fierce Bad Rabbit(1906)
The Tale of Tom Kitten(1907)
The Tale of Jemima Puddle-Duck(1908)
The Tale of Samuel Whiskers or the Roly-Poly Pudding(1908)
The Tale of the Flopsy Bunnies(1909)
The Tale of Ginger & Pickles(1909)
The Tale of Mrs. Tittlemouse(1910)
The Tale of Timmy Tiptoes(1911)
The Tale of Mr. Tod(1912)
The Tale of Pigling Bland(1913)
Appley Dapply’s Nursery Rhymes(1917)
The Tale of Johnny Town-Mouse(1918)
Cecily Parsley’s Nursery Rhymes(1922)
The Tale of Little Pig Robinson(1930)
The Tale of Kitty In Boots(2016)
The Christmas Present Hunt(2021)

Publication Order of Collections

Little Red Riding Hood: The Ultimate Collection(With: Charles Perrault)(1697)
Peter Rabbit and Eleven Other Favorite Tales(1993)
Fairy Tales for Adults(2018)

Publication Order of Anthologies

Round the Christmas Tree(1983)
By a Woman’s Hand(2010)
Animals We Love(2019)

More about Beatrix Potter – Author Bio

Beatrix Potter, a cherished name in children’s literature, was born on July 28, 1866, in London, England. Her enchanting tales and illustrations of animals in idyllic rural settings have captivated generations of young readers. Growing up in a well-to-do household, Potter’s early life was sheltered, yet rich in artistic and educational pursuits. She found solace and inspiration in nature during family holidays in Scotland and the Lake District, experiences that fueled her imagination and creativity.

Potter’s artistic talents were evident from a young age. She was a keen observer of the natural world, and this fascination is reflected in the intricate, lifelike illustrations that adorn her stories. Initially, Potter pursued publishing her work out of a desire to be financially independent and to share her love for the natural world. Her first book, “The Tale of Peter Rabbit,” was initially self-published in 1901 after facing rejections from publishers. Its success was immediate and overwhelming, leading to a professional publishing deal.

Her subsequent books, such as “The Tale of Squirrel Nutkin” and “The Tale of Jemima Puddle-Duck,” expanded her enchanting world, each story featuring anthropomorphic animals in charming, yet often mischievous, adventures. Potter’s stories were unique for their time, combining whimsical narratives with realistic, detailed illustrations, and subtle moral lessons.

Beyond her writing and illustrating, Potter was also an astute businesswoman and a pioneer in merchandising her characters, recognizing the potential for spin-off products like dolls and board games. Later in life, she became a passionate sheep farmer and conservationist in the Lake District, using the proceeds from her books to acquire and preserve the land she adored.

Beatrix Potter’s legacy extends beyond her beloved tales. She left much of her property to the National Trust, helping to ensure the preservation of the countryside that inspired her. Passing away on December 22, 1943, Potter left behind a body of work that continues to enchant and inspire, her tales standing as a testament to her artistic genius and her profound connection to the natural world.

Leave a Comment