P.D James Books In Order

P.D. James, born Phyllis Dorothy James, was an iconic figure in the realm of British crime fiction. Her literary contributions have left an enduring legacy in the world of detective novels. With a writing career spanning several decades, her work has consistently delivered intelligent, meticulously crafted mysteries that have captivated readers worldwide.

James’s iconic creation, the detective Adam Dalgliesh, embodies the quintessential British investigator – a character as complex and enigmatic as the cases he unravels. Beyond the art of crafting a suspenseful plot, James possessed an innate ability to explore the depths of the human psyche, making her stories as much about the intricacies of human nature as they were about solving crimes.

Her prose was elegant, her settings vividly atmospheric, and her characters deeply engaging. In this collection of her works, readers are invited to immerse themselves in the world of P.D. James, a world where mystery and morality intersect with literary finesse, and where each page turned brings us closer to the heart of the enigma.

P.D. James has earned her place as a true luminary in the genre, and her stories remain a source of both pleasure and contemplation for generations of readers to come.

Publication Order of Adam Dalgliesh Books

Cover Her Face(1962)
A Mind to Murder(1963)
Unnatural Causes(1967)
Shroud for a Nightingale(1971)
The Black Tower(1975)
Death of an Expert Witness(1977)
A Taste for Death(1986)
Devices and Desires(1989)
Original Sin(1994)
A Certain Justice(1997)
Death in Holy Orders(2001)
The Murder Room(2003)
The Lighthouse(2005)
The Private Patient(2008)

Publication Order of Cordelia Gray Books

An Unsuitable Job for a Woman(1972)
The Skull Beneath the Skin(1982)

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Innocent Blood / Innocent House(1980)
The Children of Men(1992)
Death Comes to Pemberley(2012)

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Part-Time Job(2005)
The Victim(2019)

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Mistletoe Murder(2016)
Sleep No More(2017)

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Maul and The Pear Tree(With: T.A. Critchley)(1971)
Time To Be In Earnest(1999)
Talking About Detective Fiction(2009)
P.D. James in Her Own Words(2017)

Publication Order of Anthologies

Murder in the Dark(0)
Verdict of Thirteen(1979)
English Country House Murders(1988)
Great Law and Order Stories(1990)
The Man Who…(1992)
The Penguin Book of Modern Fantasy by Women(1995)
The Detection Collection(2005)

Leave a Comment