Greg Iles Books In Order

Greg Iles, a prominent American author, is highly regarded for his gripping novels in the thriller and suspense genres. Born on April 4, 1960, in Stuttgart, Germany, where his father ran a U.S. Embassy medical clinic, Iles spent his formative years in Natchez, Mississippi. This Southern backdrop became a significant influence in many of his works, providing a rich, atmospheric setting for his complex and suspenseful narratives.

Iles’ literary career began with the publication of “Spandau Phoenix,” a thriller about Nazi war criminal Rudolf Hess, in 1993. This debut novel set the tone for his style – a blend of historical intrigue, deep-seated conspiracies, and intense character-driven plots. His subsequent works continued to garner critical and commercial success, establishing Iles as a master of the thriller genre.

One of Iles’ most acclaimed works is the “Natchez Burning” trilogy, which delves into the racial tensions and unsolved civil rights cases in the American South. These novels, rich in historical detail and moral complexity, showcase Iles’ ability to weave intricate plots with profound social commentary.

Iles’ writing is characterized by its fast-paced, intricate plotting and well-rounded characters. He often explores themes of justice, power, and human resilience, making his stories not just thrilling reads but also thoughtful examinations of the human condition.

In addition to his writing, Iles’ life has been marked by a near-fatal car accident in 2011, an experience that has influenced his perspective and, subsequently, his writing. Despite this setback, he continued to produce bestsellers, a testament to his resilience and dedication to his craft.

Greg Iles’ contribution to the thriller genre is significant, marked by best-selling novels that offer both edge-of-your-seat suspense and deep, introspective journeys into the darker aspects of society and the human psyche. His work continues to be highly anticipated by fans of the genre around the world.

Publication Order of World War II Books

Spandau Phoenix(1993)
Black Cross(1995)

Publication Order of Mississippi Books

Mortal Fear(1997)
24 Hours(2000)
Dead Sleep(2001)
Sleep No More(2002)
Blood Memory(2005)

Publication Order of Penn Cage Books

The Quiet Game(1999)
Turning Angel(2005)
The Devil’s Punchbowl(2009)
The Death Factory(2014)
Natchez Burning(2014)
The Bone Tree(2015)
Mississippi Blood(2017)
Southern Man(2024)

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Third Degree(1996)
Dark Matter / The Footprints of God(2003)
True Evil(2006)
Cemetery Road(2019)

Leave a Comment