J.R.R. Tolkien Books In Order

Discover the extensive literary world of J.R.R. Tolkien through this chronological list of his works. From the renowned Middle-earth tales to his lesser-known writings, explore the breadth of Tolkien’s enduring legacy.

Publication Order of The Lord of the Rings Books

The Hobbit(1937)
The Fellowship of the Ring(1954)
The Two Towers(1954)
The Return of the King(1955)

Publication Order of Middle-Earth Universe Books

Tolkien’s World: Paintings of Middle-Earth(1992)
Poems From The Hobbit(1999)

Publication Order of The History of Middle-Earth Books

The Book of Lost Tales, Part One(1983)
The Book of Lost Tales, Part Two(1984)
The Lays of Beleriand(1985)
The Shaping of Middle-earth(1986)
The Lost Road and Other Writings(1987)
The War of the Jewels(1994)
The History of Middle Earth Index(2002)
The Great Tales of Middle-Earth(2018)

Publication Order of History Of The Lord Of The Rings Collections

The Return of the Shadow(1988)
The Treason of Isengard(1989)
The War of the Ring(1990)
Sauron Defeated(1992)

Publication Order of Tales of Middle Earth Books

The Fall of Gondolin(2018)
The Fall of Númenor: and Other Tales from the Second Age of Middle-earth(2022)

Publication Order of Later Silmarillion Collections

Morgoth’s Ring: The Legends of Aman(1993)

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Lay of Aotrou and Itroun(1945)
Farmer Giles of Ham(1949)
Drawings by Tolkien(1976)
The Children of Húrin(2007)
The Legend of Sigurd & Gudrún(2009)
The Story of Kullervo(2015)
The Lost Manuscript(2016)
Beren and Lúthien(2017)

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Smith of Wootton Major(1967)

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Tales from the Perilous Realm(1949)
The Adventures of Tom Bombadil(1962)
Tree and Leaf(1964)
The Tolkien Reader(1966)
Poems and Stories(1971)
Letters from Father Christmas(1976)
The Silmarillion(1977)
Unfinished Tales of Númenor and Middle-Earth(1980)
The Peoples of Middle-earth(1996)
A Tolkien Miscellany(2002)
The Fall of Arthur(2013)
Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, Pearl, and Sir Orfeo(With: Christopher Tolkien,Unknown)(2021)
The Battle of Maldon(With: Peter Grybauskaus)(2023)

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A Middle English Reader and Vocabulary(1921)
Beowulf and the Critics(1936)
Tolkien on Fairy-stories(1939)
The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien(1981)
Finn and Hengest: The Fragment and the Episode(1982)
The Monsters and the Critics: The Essays of J.R.R. Tolkien(1983)
Father Christmas Letters(1994)
The Nature of Middle-Earth(With: Carl F. Hostetter)(2021)

Publication Order of Anthologies

Over the Rainbow(1983)
The Random House Book of Fantasy Stories(1997)
Tales Before Narnia: The Roots of Modern Fantasy and Science Fiction(2008)

More About J.R.R. Tolkien

J.R.R. Tolkien, born John Ronald Reuel Tolkien on January 3, 1892, in Bloemfontein, South Africa, is celebrated as one of the most influential fantasy authors of all time. His creation of Middle-earth, a complex and detailed world, has captivated readers for generations with its rich mythology, languages, and memorable characters.

Tolkien’s early life was marked by hardship, including the death of his father when he was just three years old and his mother when he was twelve. These experiences, coupled with his move to England and a deep interest in languages and ancient mythologies, profoundly shaped his writing. He attended Exeter College, Oxford, where he studied Classics, Old English, and Germanic languages, laying the groundwork for his future works.

His career as a writer began in earnest while he worked as a professor of Anglo-Saxon at Oxford University. Here, Tolkien’s fascination with language and mythology found full expression. He first wrote “The Hobbit,” published in 1937, as a story for his children. Its success led him to explore this universe further, culminating in the epic “The Lord of the Rings” trilogy, which redefined the fantasy genre.

Tolkien’s writing is characterized by its intricate world-building and the development of entire languages for his fictional races. His work goes beyond mere storytelling; it’s an exploration of themes such as heroism, fate, and the struggle between good and evil. His ability to weave these themes into a cohesive and immersive world has made his books timeless classics.

Beyond his famous Middle-earth novels, Tolkien’s body of work includes academic writings, translations, and a range of stories and poems, all marked by his imaginative power and linguistic skill.

J.R.R. Tolkien passed away on September 2, 1973, but his legacy lives on. His works have been translated into numerous languages and have inspired countless adaptations, including films, video games, and artwork. Tolkien’s imagination and creativity have made an indelible impact on literature, leaving a legacy that continues to enchant and inspire readers around the world.

Leave a Comment