Jenny Cooper Books In Order

The Jenny Cooper series, penned by British novelist and screenwriter M.R. Hall, dives deep into the world of mystery and thriller, unraveling stories through the eyes of Jenny Cooper, a coroner in Severn Vale, Gloucestershire. With a series that spans over six novels and one novella from 2009 to 2014, Hall crafts a narrative filled with suspense, intrigue, and the relentless pursuit of truth.

See all Jenny Cooper books in order

Jenny Cooper, introduced in the first novel “The Coroner” (2009), emerges as a character shaped by her experiences and challenges. Transitioning from a lawyer to the district coroner, she anticipates a quieter life, aiming to recover from her divorce’s emotional scars. However, what awaits her in the coroner’s office is far from peaceful. The death of her predecessor, Harry Marshall, and the mysterious cases of a young boy’s custodial death and a teenage girl’s overdose thrust Jenny into the murky waters of investigation and truth-seeking.

The journey is fraught with danger as Jenny navigates through the shadows of power, corruption, and secrets that some would prefer remain buried. Her determination to uncover the truth about the deaths she investigates, and the suspicious circumstances surrounding Harry Marshall’s demise, highlights her courage and unwavering commitment to justice. Despite the personal risks, Jenny’s quest for answers is a testament to her strength and dedication to serving those silenced forever.

“The Disappeared,” the series’ second installment, continues to showcase Jenny’s growth as a coroner and her tenacity in facing the dark underbelly of her profession. Tasked with solving the mystery of two vanished students, Jenny confronts not only external pressures and conspiracies but also the demons of her past. This novel deepens the series’ exploration of themes such as loss, accountability, and the sometimes-blurred lines between the personal and professional.

M.R. Hall’s creation of Jenny Cooper is not just about solving mysteries; it’s about the journey of a woman who, amidst personal turmoil and professional challenges, strives to bring light to the darkest of places. Each novel in the series builds on this foundation, offering readers a blend of thrilling narratives and a deep, personal look into Jenny’s life and evolution.

Hall’s skillful storytelling, combined with his background in law and screenwriting, enriches the series, making it a compelling read for fans of mystery and thriller genres alike. Through Jenny Cooper, M.R. Hall invites readers into a world where the pursuit of truth is relentless, the stakes are high, and the path to justice is fraught with peril.

Jenny Cooper Books In Order of Publication

The Coroner(2009)
The Disappeared(2009)
The Redeemed(2011)
The Flight(2012)
The Innocent(2012)
The Chosen Dead(2013)
The Burning(2014)
A Life to Kill / The Last Post(2016)
Chronological note: The Innocent is a prequel to the series.

Leave a Comment