Irvine Welsh Books In Order

Irvine Welsh is a Scottish novelist, playwright, and short story writer, renowned for his provocative and gritty depiction of the urban Scottish life. Born on September 27, 1958, in Leith, a district of Edinburgh, Welsh’s upbringing in the working-class areas of the city profoundly influenced his writing.

Welsh burst onto the literary scene with his debut novel, “Trainspotting,” published in 1993. This novel, which examines the lives of a group of heroin addicts living in the economically depressed area of Edinburgh, became an instant classic. It is celebrated for its raw portrayal of addiction and poverty, and its unique use of the Scottish vernacular. The book’s success was amplified by the release of a critically acclaimed film adaptation in 1996, directed by Danny Boyle.

His writing style is characterized by its rawness, dark humor, and the use of Edinburgh dialect, which lends an authentic voice to his characters. Welsh often tackles themes of social alienation, class struggle, and the darker aspects of contemporary society, making his work resonate with readers and audiences seeking unflinching realism.

Following “Trainspotting,” Welsh continued to write novels, short stories, and plays, often set in the same universe as his debut work. His subsequent novels, such as “Filth,” “Porno,” and “Skagboys,” further established his reputation as a writer unafraid to explore the fringes of society and the complexities of human nature.

Irvine Welsh’s contribution to literature is significant, particularly in the genre of contemporary Scottish literature. His ability to capture the voice and experience of the urban working class has not only earned him a loyal readership but also placed him among the most influential Scottish authors of his generation. His work continues to be celebrated for its vivid portrayal of Edinburgh’s underbelly and its exploration of themes that challenge and provoke.

Publication Order of Crime Books

The Long Knives(2022)
DS Ray Lennox is also a part of the standalone novel Filth.

Publication Order of Trainspotting / Mark Renton Books

Porno / T2 Trainspotting(2005)
The Blade Artist(2016)
Dead Men’s Trousers(2018)

Chronological Order of Trainspotting / Mark Renton Books

Porno / T2 Trainspotting(2005)
The Blade Artist(2016)
Dead Men’s Trousers(2018)

Publication Order of Terry Lawson Books

A Decent Ride(2015)

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Marabou Stork Nightmares(1995)
You’ll Have Had Your Hole(1998)
The Bedroom Secrets of the Master Chefs(2006)
Babylon Heights(2006)
The Sex Lives of Siamese Twins(2014)

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas


Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Acid House(1994)
Ecstasy: Three Tales of Chemical Romance(1996)
If You Liked School, You’ll Love Work(2007)
Reheated Cabbage(2009)

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Days Like This(2009)

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Tongue in Yer Heid(1994)
Ahead of its Time(1997)
Open City #5: Change or Die(1997)
Children of Albion Rovers(1997)
Acid Plaid: New Scottish Writing(1997)
Speaking With the Angel(2000)
The Weekenders: Travels in the Heart of Africa(2001)
The Weekenders: Adventures in Calcutta(2004)
One City(2005)
British Poetry Magazines 1914-2000: A History and Bibliography of ‘Little Magazines’(2006)
Rotten English: A Literary Anthology(2007)
Because I am a Girl: Eight Authors, Eight Countries, Eight Unforgettable Stories(2010)
One for the Trouble: Book Slam Volume 1(2011)
The Seal Club(2020)
Scottish Stories(2023)

If you like Irvine Welsh then you might like the following authors too!
Hunter S Thompson
Kurt Vonnegut

Leave a Comment