Stephen Hawking Books In Order

Stephen Hawking was a world-renowned British theoretical physicist, cosmologist, and author, celebrated for his groundbreaking work in physics and his ability to make complex scientific concepts accessible to the general public. Born on January 8, 1942, in Oxford, England, Hawking’s academic brilliance emerged early, despite facing the challenge of a neurodegenerative disease, diagnosed when he was only 21.

Hawking’s scientific career was largely built at Cambridge University, where he held the prestigious position of Lucasian Professor of Mathematics, a post once held by Isaac Newton. He made significant contributions to the fields of cosmology and quantum gravity, especially in the context of black holes. His work on the theoretical prediction that black holes emit radiation, often called Hawking radiation, was groundbreaking.

Despite being diagnosed with Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS), a condition that gradually paralyzed him, Hawking’s intellect and determination saw him continue his research and writing. His bestselling book, “A Brief History of Time,” published in 1988, brought him international acclaim. The book explained complex scientific theories in a way that was understandable to the average reader, making it an unlikely bestseller in the genre.

Hawking’s ability to engage with a broad audience extended beyond his writing. He appeared on television shows and public lectures, using a computerized voice synthesizer to communicate. His sense of humor and his appearances in popular culture (including TV shows like “The Simpsons” and “Star Trek”) made him a household name and helped to popularize science around the world.

Stephen Hawking’s contributions to science were recognized with numerous awards and honors, including the Presidential Medal of Freedom. He continued to write, lecture, and conduct research until his death on March 14, 2018. Hawking’s legacy extends beyond his scientific achievements; he inspired millions with his determination, his wit, and his profound insights into the mysteries of the universe.

Publication Order of Stephen Hawking Non-Fiction Books

The Large Scale Structure of Space-TimeA technical exploration into the geometric properties of space and time, focusing on Einstein’s general theory of relativity and its implications.(1973)
A Brief History of TimeHawking’s landmark book that introduced complex concepts of space, time, and the universe to a general audience.(1988)
Black Holes and Baby Universes and Other EssaysA collection of essays that delve into Hawking’s personal insights and the broader implications of his work.(1993)
The Nature of Space and TimeA deep dive into the debates and discussions between Hawking and Roger Penrose on the theoretical frameworks of space-time and the universe.(1996)
The Universe In A NutshellThis book serves as a sequel to “A Brief History of Time” and offers updates on the questions of the universe.(2001)
On the Shoulders of GiantsHawking examines the works of great scientists who have shaped our understanding of the world.(2002)
God Created the IntegersGod Created the Integers”: Hawking discusses the history of mathematics by exploring the lives and contributions of significant mathematicians who changed the way we understand the world.(2005)
A Briefer History of Time (Hawking and Mlodinow book)A more accessible version of Hawking’s earlier work, simplifying complex theories about the universe and time for a wider audience.(2006)
The Grand DesignCo-authored with Leonard Mlodinow, this book discusses the latest theories in cosmology, including the possibility of a ‘theory of everything’.(2010)
The Dreams That Stuff Is Made OfThis anthology compiles seminal papers by iconic figures in quantum physics that sparked a paradigm shift in our understanding of the universe(2011)
My Brief HistoryA memoir detailing Hawking’s personal journey from his postgraduate days at Cambridge to his groundbreaking research into black holes.(2013)
Brief Answers to the Big QuestionsPublished posthumously, this book addresses major questions about the universe and our existence.(2018)

Publication Order of “George” Series of Children’s Books With Lucy Hawking

George’s Secret Key To The Universe (2007)
George’s Cosmic Treasure Hunt(2009)
George and the Big Bang(2011)
George and the Unbreakable Code(2014)
George and the Blue Moon(2016)

Leave a Comment