Sue Grafton Books In Order

Sue Grafton was an American author best known for her groundbreaking “Alphabet Series” of detective novels featuring the intrepid private investigator, Kinsey Millhone. Born on April 24, 1940, in Louisville, Kentucky, Grafton’s literary career was deeply influenced by her early life experiences and her father, C.W. Grafton, himself a detective novelist. This unique upbringing planted the seeds for what would become a distinguished writing career.

Grafton’s journey into the world of mystery writing began after a varied career in television screenwriting. Frustrated with the limitations of scriptwriting, she turned her talents to novels, where she found the freedom to develop her characters and plots with greater depth. Her first Kinsey Millhone novel, “A is for Alibi” (1982), marked the start of what would become a seminal series in the mystery genre, introducing a female detective who was both relatable and fiercely independent.

With each subsequent novel, from “B is for Burglar” to “Y is for Yesterday,” Grafton intricately wove complex mysteries that captivated readers, earning her critical acclaim and a loyal fan base. Her work was characterized by sharp wit, keen observation, and a profound understanding of human nature, making Kinsey Millhone one of the most enduring characters in the genre.

Beyond her novels, Grafton was a champion for the mystery writing community, often speaking at conferences and mentoring emerging writers. Her contributions to the genre were recognized with numerous awards, including the Grand Master Award from the Mystery Writers of America.

Sue Grafton passed away on December 28, 2017, leaving behind a legacy that transformed detective fiction. Her decision to keep the Kinsey Millhone series exclusively in book form, famously rejecting offers for screen adaptations, underscored her commitment to the written word and her readers. Grafton’s work remains a benchmark for mystery writers, and her influence continues to inspire authors and readers alike.

Kinsey Millhone Books in Order of Publication

A is for Alibi(1982)
B is for Burglar(1985)
C is for Corpse(1986)
D is for Deadbeat(1987)
E is for Evidence(1988)
F is for Fugitive(1989)
G is for Gumshoe(1990)
H is for Homicide(1991)
I is for Innocent(1992)
J is for Judgment(1993)
K is for Killer(1994)
L is for Lawless(1994)
M is for Malice(1996)
N is for Noose(1998)
O is for Outlaw(1999)
P is for Peril(2000)
Q is for Quarry(2002)
R is for Ricochet(2004)
S is for Silence(2005)
T is for Trespass(2007)
U is for Undertow(2009)
V is for Vengeance(2011)
W is for Wasted(2013)
Y is for Yesterday(2017)

Publication Order of Kinsey Millhone Collections

Kinsey and Me: Stories(2013)

Standalone Novels in Order of Publication

Keziah Dane(1967)
Lolly-madonna War(1969)

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Parker Shotgun(1986)
Between the Sheets(1986)
A Poison That Leaves No Trace(1990)
Full Circle(1991)
A Little Missionary Work(1992)

Non-Fiction Books in Order of Publication

Writing Mysteries(1992)

Deadly Allies Books in Order of Publication

Deadly Allies(With: Sara Paretsky,Jan Grape,Susan Dunlap,Margaret Maron,Nancy Pickard,Loren D. Estleman,Julie Smith,Jeremiah Healy,Max Allan Collins,Benjamin M. Schutz,John Lutz,Robert J. Randisi,Carolyn Hart,Lia Matera,Michael Collins,Marilyn Wallace,Rob Kantner,Sandra Scoppettone,Sarah Andrews,Bob Randisi)(1992)
Deadly Allies II(By: Susan Dunlap,Loren D. Estleman,John Lutz,Robert J. Randisi)(1994)

Anthologies in Order of Publication

Mean Streets(1986)
The Mammoth Book of Private Eye Stories(1988)
An Eye for Justice(1988)
City Sleuths and Tough Guys(1989)
Sisters in Crime 2(1990)
A Woman’s Eye(1991)
Deadly Allies(1992)
The Year’s 25 Finest Crime and Mystery Stories 1991(1992)
Female Sleuths(1993)
The Year’s 25 Finest Crime and Mystery Stories 1992(1993)
Great Mystery Series: Top Female Sleuths(1993)
2nd Culprit(1993)
The Year’s 25 Finest Crime and Mystery Stories 1993(1994)
The Crown Crime Companion(1995)
First Cases, Volume 1(1996)
The Oxford Book of American Detective Stories(1996)
The Best American Mystery Stories 1998(1998)
The Oxford Book of Detective Stories(2000)
Crime Story Collection(2000)
A Poison That Leaves No Trace: With Mystery Jigsaw Puzzle(2002)
Most Wanted(2002)
The Longman Anthology of Detective Fiction(2004)
A New Omnibus of Crime(2005)
The Shamus Winners(2010)

Leave a Comment