John Grisham Books In Order

We’ve compiled a comprehensive list of John Grisham’s books, arranged by their publication dates. With this guide, you can effortlessly trace the evolution of his literary career and discover your next favorite read.

Publication Order of Jake Brigance Books

A Time to Kill(1989)
Sycamore Row(2013)
A Time for Mercy(2020)

Publication Order of Mitch McDeere Books

The Firm(1991)
The Exchange(2023)

Publication Order of Theodore Boone Books

Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer / Young Lawyer(2010)
The Abduction(2010)
The Accused(2012)
The Activist(2013)
The Fugitive(2015)
The Scandal(2016)
The Accomplice(2019)

Publication Order of Camino Island Books

Camino Island(2017)
Camino Winds(2020)
Camino Ghosts(2024)

Publication Order of Rogue Lawyer Books

Rogue Lawyer(2015)

Publication Order of The Whistler Books

Witness to a Trial(2016)
The Whistler(2016)
The Judge’s List(2021)

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Pelican Brief(1992)
The Client(1993)
The Chamber(1994)
The Rainmaker(1995)
The Runaway Jury(1996)
The Partner(1997)
The Street Lawyer(1998)
The Testament(1999)
The Brethren(2000)
A Painted House(2001)
Skipping Christmas(2001)
The Summons(2002)
The King of Torts(2003)
The Last Juror(2004)
The Broker(2005)
Playing for Pizza(2007)
The Appeal(2008)
The Associate(2009)
The Confession(2010)
The Litigators(2011)
Calico Joe(2012)
The Racketeer(2012)
Gray Mountain(2014)
The Rooster Bar(2017)
The Reckoning(2018)
The Guardians(2019)
The Boys from Biloxi(2022)

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Fetching Raymond(2011)
Fish Files(2011)
Quiet Haven(2011)
The Tumor(2015)

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Ford County(2008)
Sparring Partners(2022)

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Innocent Man: Murder and Injustice in a Small Town(2006)

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Wavedancer Benefit: A Tribute to Frank Muller(2002)
Their World is Law(2002)
Delta Blues(2009)
Don’t Quit Your Day Job: Acclaimed Authors and the Day Jobs They Quit(2010)
Fourteen Days: An Unauthorized Gathering(2024)

More About John Grisham

BirthplaceJonesboro, Arkansas, The United States
GenreThriller, Nonfiction, Young Adult
InfluencesWilliam FaulknerJohn Steinbeck

John Grisham, an American author renowned for his legal thrillers, has become a household name in the world of contemporary fiction. Born on February 8, 1955, in Jonesboro, Arkansas, Grisham initially pursued a career in law, graduating from the University of Mississippi Law School. His experiences as a lawyer and legislator in Mississippi heavily influenced his writing career.

Grisham’s journey as a novelist began with “A Time to Kill,” published in 1989. Though initially not a bestseller, it laid the foundation for his future success. His next novel, “The Firm,” released in 1991, catapulted him to fame, becoming a bestseller and later adapted into a successful film. This pattern of success and adaptation into films continued with many of his subsequent novels, such as “The Pelican Brief,” “The Client,” and “A Time to Kill.”

Known for his fast-paced narrative style, Grisham’s books often revolve around legal cases, shining a light on various legal and social issues. His storytelling prowess lies in his ability to weave intriguing plots with an insider’s knowledge of legal procedures and loopholes, making his stories both educational and entertaining.

Apart from legal thrillers, Grisham has also explored other genres. He has written sports fiction, as seen in “Bleachers,” and a series of legal thrillers for children, starting with “Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer.” His works not only capture the drama and complexity of the legal world but also the moral dilemmas and ethical challenges faced by his characters.

Grisham’s influence extends beyond literature. His books have shaped public perception of the legal system and have been a catalyst for discussions on various legal and moral issues. With over 300 million copies of his books in print worldwide, John Grisham remains one of the most prominent and influential authors in the realm of legal thrillers and contemporary fiction.

Leave a Comment